Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: LW2019.0.3 and LWCad

  1. #1

    LW2019.0.3 and LWCad

    Can anybody verify for me a something I'm not seeing in the latest build of 2019 and LWCad 2018? I use the "Distance" tool in LWCad all the time and it has a setting to show "Permanent Dimension". Well in 2018 it never showed the "Permanent Dimension" and I sent a report to Viktor but never heard anything. Well 2019 came out and the "Permanent Dimensions" were back - conclusion, LW issue. So now in 2019.0.3 they are gone again. Can someone please verify?

    Thanks
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  2. #2
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    692
    I'm seeing it working correctly in 2018.0.7 and 2019.0.3.

    Saved LWO file and reopened to see the measure still appearing in both 18 & 19.

    I should note that I use the manual installation of LWCAD. There have been reports of issues with the installer. On my system, the LWCAD for 2019 is just copied over in the configs from 2018. I'm pointing both 18 & 19 to the same LWCAD plugin location.

    We're talking about the option in the Numeric panel, right?
    Last edited by raymondtrace; 03-14-2019 at 10:58 AM.
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  3. #3
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,737
    Ditching configs... although painful, will most likely solve the issue.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  4. #4
    Here is the issue.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WeDo.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	381.0 KB 
ID:	144412
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WeDon't.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	352.5 KB 
ID:	144413

    I never did get it to work in any of the 2018 series. With 2019 it worked from the get go (2019.0, 2019.0.1 and 2019.0.2) but now with 2019.0.3 - nada.
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  5. #5
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    692
    Here's what I have in LW2019.0.3 and LWCAD 2018.1. Is it possible you have an older LWCAD 2018?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	measure.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	23.9 KB 
ID:	144414
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	measure-color.png 
Views:	24 
Size:	23.8 KB 
ID:	144415

    There is some bugginess when I click the "flip side" button in the Numeric panel. It crashes Modeler.
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  6. #6
    I think I'm using the latest.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LWCadDistance.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	523.9 KB 
ID:	144416
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  7. #7
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    692
    You probably just need to make your interface highlight/selected buttons pink.

    Seriously though, the issue may be upstream from the plugin. I wonder if there is a viewport display setting within LW that may drive the appearance of the measure. Did you copy over your 2019.0.2 configs to 2019.0.3 or did you let 2019.0.3 create new configs?
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

  8. #8
    I copied them. I need to do some checking - you've got me thinking.

    Update: I got it working! I copied an older version of the EXT cfg file - user error!
    Last edited by Tim Parsons; 03-14-2019 at 02:56 PM.
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  9. #9
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,769
    When you're installing 3rd party plugin which has custom polygon handler, you must 1) start Modeler 2) Add Plug-ins 3) QUIT! 4) RESTART! 5) then start adding buttons and start using tools. DO NOT start using tools without restarting of Modeler! Custom polygon handlers are very low-level, core level, plugin class.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2019
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

  10. #10
    Time Traveller Andy Webb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Hertfordshire UK
    Posts
    2,140
    I just downloaded LWCAD 2018.1 (did not know it was out).

    After installing it in LW 2019.0.3, I tried using distance tool and not only does it fail to keep the dimension it does not use any of the sketch colours just white, I end up with just a white line!
    Andy Webb

    Intel core i7-3820 3.60GHz
    Asus P9X79 Deluxe motherboard
    GeForce GTX 660
    32 Gb RAM
    Windows 10

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Webb View Post
    I just downloaded LWCAD 2018.1 (did not know it was out).

    After installing it in LW 2019.0.3, I tried using distance tool and not only does it fail to keep the dimension it does not use any of the sketch colours just white, I end up with just a white line!
    Exactly the problem I was having! Did you use the LWCad installer or just load the plugins manually. (There is only one plugin in LWCad2018, not the traditional 3)
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  12. #12
    Time Traveller Andy Webb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Hertfordshire UK
    Posts
    2,140
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Parsons View Post
    Exactly the problem I was having! Did you use the LWCad installer or just load the plugins manually. (There is only one plugin in LWCad2018, not the traditional 3)
    No I manually installed.
    Andy Webb

    Intel core i7-3820 3.60GHz
    Asus P9X79 Deluxe motherboard
    GeForce GTX 660
    32 Gb RAM
    Windows 10

  13. #13
    My work mate didn't have any issues (and we have the same PC) so it must be some .cfg file conflict or something. I wish I could tell you exactly what to do as originally I thought it was a Newtek problem as I went a whole year with it not working with LW2018 and was tickled pink when after installing 2019 it worked again - which in my mind confirmed that it was a Lightwave problem - apparently not!
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  14. #14
    Time Traveller Andy Webb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Hertfordshire UK
    Posts
    2,140
    Just uninstalled and then reinstalled as per LWCAD manual, but still no luck. I also noticed that alot of LWCADs creat tools have sketch colour, which I've never used, but that does not work either!!
    Andy Webb

    Intel core i7-3820 3.60GHz
    Asus P9X79 Deluxe motherboard
    GeForce GTX 660
    32 Gb RAM
    Windows 10

  15. #15
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    692
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Webb View Post
    ...I tried using distance tool and not only does it fail to keep the dimension it does not use any of the sketch colours just white, I end up with just a white line!
    While the failure to keep displaying the dimension requires troubleshooting, is it possible that you're not seeing anything but a white line because you are not viewing it in Lightwave's "color wireframe" mode? Compare the screen shots from my earlier post.
    LW7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •