Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Android NDI Camera App

  1. #1
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    485

    Android NDI Camera App

    Hi,
    I got the app for my android phone but I never see it show up on any of the Tricasters that I use.
    Not on a 460 with AE2 or a TC1. I can't find any useful info for troubleshooting.

    Does anyone have any tips?
    Thanks
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  2. #2
    Make sure you have your phone and TriCaster are on the same network. This might require a router or hub of some sort. Also make sure the network settings are not set to Public for firewall reasons.
    John Erbicella
    Experienced in TriCaster, OBS, and various streaming solutions
    Web: http://www.jperbicella.com
    Twitter: @JPErbicella
    YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/jperbicella

  3. #3
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    485
    So my phone can't be wireless? I have to get an OTG Cable? My phone has to be wired to make this work?
    I'm confused.
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  4. #4
    Registered User spaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by Stream View Post
    So my phone can't be wireless? I have to get an OTG Cable? My phone has to be wired to make this work?
    I'm confused.
    Your phone can be wireless, but you need to be connected to the same network your TriCaster is on.
    Sr. Director, Marketing Services
    NewTek
    San Antonio, TX

  5. #5
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    485
    OK.
    My computer is connected to our network through our sonic wall. My phone is on our network using the sonic walls wifi.
    I do not see my phone on the Tricaster as a source.
    This is what I mean about documentation. There should be documentation giving examples of how to complete this very crucial step.
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  6. #6
    The step you are asking for is highly dependent on how your network is configured.

    I used to work at a place with a SonicWall, the model we had (I don't remember) setup the wired and wireless network on different subnets. From what I recall, there wasn't a option to change this behavior. The discovery (multicast) packets used by NDI will not cross subnets, which is why you cannot see the phone.

    If the SonicWall has been configured to allow routing between the subnets, then you should be able to use NDI Access Manager to setup a remote source to the IP address on the phone.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  7. #7
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    485
    Thanks Kane!
    I'm a default tech guy, lots of google and very dangerous at times.
    Question, if I used a netgear router would that be an easier process?
    I was testing this at one job, but really want to use it at another gig where I think it would be more useful.
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  8. #8
    Andrew Carlson
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Firth, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by Stream View Post
    Question, if I used a netgear router would that be an easier process?
    Yes, just be sure the TriCaster is plugged directly into your router. We ran into this issue at our school when we wanted to run PTZ in a separate location in our building. Our network administrator set up a separate VLAN for TriCaster, PTZ's, and Wireless Sparks. Wireless access points are connected to network jacks that are part of the VLAN. Works amazing.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •