Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 174

Thread: Brent's Lightwave 2019 Render Challenge

  1. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    France
    Posts
    87
    As i shared from facebook i put here too

    Original : 9m 8s
    Optimized : 1m 28s

  2. #32
    ..since 4.0 and beyond brent3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by 3dslider View Post
    As i shared from facebook i put here too

    Original : 9m 8s
    Optimized : 1m 28s
    That's a good time. If your using Interpolation make sure you retain the same shadow articulation as in Brute Force, that way your render will be closer to Octanes Direct Lighting's accuracy.

  3. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    France
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by brent3d View Post
    That's a good time. If your using Interpolation make sure you retain the same shadow articulation as in Brute Force, that way your render will be closer to Octanes Direct Lighting's accuracy.
    Not interpolation just i make brute force down to 2 rays + 1 ray for R/R/S and it is fast indeed for same result with denoise


    this is optimized image :

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tank.png 
Views:	87 
Size:	1.22 MB 
ID:	144084
    Last edited by 3dslider; 02-09-2019 at 07:03 PM.

  4. #34
    ..since 4.0 and beyond brent3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by 3dslider View Post
    Not interpolation just i make brute force down to 2 rays + 1 ray for R/R/S and it is fast indeed for same result with denoise


    this is optimized image :

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tank.png 
Views:	87 
Size:	1.22 MB 
ID:	144084
    Awesome!

  5. #35
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,409
    Now that we are comparing Apples with Oranges, let's throw in a banana.
    Eevee test render. 1920x1080px 1.76 seconds on GTX 1080.
    4K 4096x2160px render: 4.74 seconds



    Full size image render: http://www.upl.co/uploads/eeveetest1549831669.png
    Blend file: http://www.upl.co/uploads/eeveeBrent3D1549831330.zip

    PS I should've turned off the reflections on the base, but forgot.
    Last edited by Rayek; 02-10-2019 at 03:09 PM.
    Win10 64 - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb, Nvidia GTX 1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820. Screens: 2 x Samsung s27a850ds 2560x1440, HP 1920x1200 in portrait mode

  6. #36
    ..since 4.0 and beyond brent3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by Rayek View Post
    Now that we are comparing Apples with Oranges, let's throw in a banana.
    Eevee test render. 1920x1080px 1.76 seconds on GTX 1080.
    4K 4096x2160px render: 4.74 seconds



    Full size image render: http://www.upl.co/uploads/eeveetest1549831669.png
    Blend file: http://www.upl.co/uploads/eeveeBrent3D1549831330.zip

    PS I should've turned off the reflections on the base, but forgot.
    You just dropped the mic Shows over folks, nothing to see here.

  7. #37
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,409
    To be fair, the choice of render engine depends on the job at hand. Eevee has its limitations, just like any other render engine. Let the job requirements define the choice of render engine, I'd say.

    That said, Eevee is blowing my mind at the moment. I haven't gone in deep yet, and the (almost) realtime render paradigm requires a bit of a rethink here and there. So I am still very much a novice. But it is *fun*.
    Win10 64 - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb, Nvidia GTX 1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820. Screens: 2 x Samsung s27a850ds 2560x1440, HP 1920x1200 in portrait mode

  8. #38
    If we are comparing eevee, we should also bring in some Unreal with the bridge. Anyone want to try?

  9. #39
    ..since 4.0 and beyond brent3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by Rayek View Post
    To be fair, the choice of render engine depends on the job at hand. Eevee has its limitations, just like any other render engine. Let the job requirements define the choice of render engine, I'd say.

    That said, Eevee is blowing my mind at the moment. I haven't gone in deep yet, and the (almost) realtime render paradigm requires a bit of a rethink here and there. So I am still very much a novice. But it is *fun*.
    Totally agree, I had a project once that actually required a hard edge shadow/graphic look so back to LW's rayracer I went...lol.
    EVEE will be a game changer since it's actually in a 3D application and not just a game editor.

  10. #40
    Super Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    949
    Isn't Eevee a bit like Marmoset Toolbag though? It's sort of an OpenGL/DirectX render engine? So it's literally *real-time*, no?

    I rendered 1920x1080 with Octane in Modo at 8 seconds.
    I tried 4K for fun; 38 seconds.


    I recorded a short clip too. Might be especially interesting for those who haven't tried gpu render yet.
    (it's still processing, will be HD and beyond any time now..)
    3D Generalist
    i7 5960x, 128GB, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10

  11. #41
    ..since 4.0 and beyond brent3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by OlaHaldor View Post
    Isn't Eevee a bit like Marmoset Toolbag though? It's sort of an OpenGL/DirectX render engine? So it's literally *real-time*, no?

    I rendered 1920x1080 with Octane in Modo at 8 seconds.
    I tried 4K for fun; 38 seconds.


    I recorded a short clip too. Might be especially interesting for those who haven't tried gpu render yet.
    (it's still processing, will be HD and beyond any time now..)
    Outstanding! What card or cards?

  12. #42
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,409
    Quote Originally Posted by OlaHaldor View Post
    Isn't Eevee a bit like Marmoset Toolbag though? It's sort of an OpenGL/DirectX render engine? So it's literally *real-time*, no?

    I rendered 1920x1080 with Octane in Modo at 8 seconds.
    I tried 4K for fun; 38 seconds.


    I recorded a short clip too. Might be especially interesting for those who haven't tried gpu render yet.
    (it's still processing, will be HD and beyond any time now..)
    Eevee is not quite comparable to a game render engine. It uses other techniques which improve the overall quality and use sampling and "stuff". It renders to high quality anti-aliasing, and even uses a de-noiser. It's somewhat between here and there in regards to rendering.

    Good job on that Octane render, btw!

    I am now playing with Godot to get the lighting and quality right, but it takes more manual setup. Completely different approach with GI probes and such. But it is truly real-time, which makes sense because it is literally a game engine.

    @ThomasCheng Unreal would be a good comparison too. It is amazing what we can achieve with all these render technologies.
    Win10 64 - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb, Nvidia GTX 1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820. Screens: 2 x Samsung s27a850ds 2560x1440, HP 1920x1200 in portrait mode

  13. #43
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,409
    Cycles with combined GPU + CPU (1080GTX + aging old i7 920).

    128 samples with denoiser default settings. 35.62 seconds. Not half bad. But I do wonder about the usefulness of this test, aside from the obvious GPU versus CPU render speed differences.

    @olahaldor Octane seems to use more VRAM than Cycles for this scene (1331MB versus 99.10MB). Is this correct? Seems strange to me, seeing this is a simple scene.

    @Brent3D Your Lightwave Octane render seems to use 576MB VRAM. Also quite a lot compared, but less than Olahaldor's Modo Octane render. Anyway, just curious.

    Win10 64 - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb, Nvidia GTX 1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820. Screens: 2 x Samsung s27a850ds 2560x1440, HP 1920x1200 in portrait mode

  14. #44
    ..since 4.0 and beyond brent3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by Rayek View Post
    Cycles with combined GPU + CPU (1080GTX + aging old i7 920).

    @Brent3D Your Lightwave Octane render seems to use 576MB VRAM. Also quite a lot compared, but less than Olahaldor's Modo Octane render. Anyway, just curious.
    Excellent work! Not sure on the Vram differences, checking it out.

  15. #45
    Super Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by brent3d View Post
    Outstanding! What card or cards?
    1 x EVGA RTX 2080 Ti. No overclock or anything.
    (seeing this I *really* want to get another one if I get some jobs to pay for it )


    Quote Originally Posted by Rayek View Post
    Eevee is not quite comparable to a game render engine. It uses other techniques which improve the overall quality and use sampling and "stuff". It renders to high quality anti-aliasing, and even uses a de-noiser. It's somewhat between here and there in regards to rendering.
    Ah ok Sounds very interesting.
    While you can't do a ton of AA samples etc on the fly in Marmoset, you can when you save an image (or image sequence). I didn't make a directional light in my example, but that'd make the shapes read better by adding a hard shadow.

    (marmoset really is my go-to app for quick and dirty renders. So fast to set up something that looks good enough)


    I can't really tell why Octane used more VRAM here. I've seldom thought about VRAM usage when I render. I only care about it if I get an error.
    Last edited by OlaHaldor; 02-11-2019 at 02:15 AM.
    3D Generalist
    i7 5960x, 128GB, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •