Thread: General Information on 3D Printing

General Information on 3D Printing

Hi Lightwavers,

May I please ask some general questions about 3d printing? I have no experience and a friend of mine asked to do some simple model and I a m going to send him the file.

What should I do and what should not regarding the SubD and triangulations and more importantly format of the scene and other things that might be relevant?

Thanks a lot for your attention.

SubD will not work at all. Only polygons count. If you have LightWave 2018 or 2019, then read the documentation here: https://docs.lightwave3d.com/display...ith+LightWave; but this information equally applies to LightWave going back to 11.6.

B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

Do not destroy your working file with SubDs.
    Set the SubD level you want, Freeze it.
    Check the mesh to make sure it's good for printing.
    Save a Copy of the frozen mesh so you can go back and adjust the model/SubDs after.

You really don't want to Freeze something to a higher poly count and make major edits. Minor adjustments may be necessary and that's fine.