Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: add image data from sequence to render file name

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    1

    add image data from sequence to render file name

    I have been using Adobe Bridge to batch rename images in a folder to numerical sequence (keeping the original file name in the metadata for each image). I use Lightwave to render image sequences using those renamed files. Is it possible for Lightwave to somehow include that original filename in the render file names? If not, I have to visually identify them and rename them, which gets very tedious, considering I do hundreds of images in each batch. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,635
    Perhaps I'm misunderstanding, but why don't you COPY the files to another location for the sequentially named files rather than renaming them? Then, just delete the sequentially named copies of the files when the LW render is done.

    mTp

  3. #3
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,391
    What you really want is something akin to C4D's "Tokens" feature. While LW has some token-like support, unfortunately, it's not really user-configurable/-extensible, and that's what you need for the scenario you're describing.

    It is kind of a shame, given LW already supports tokens (a meta-form of variables) for filenaming for IO, and so forth, that they never really "fully opened-up" the capabilities there via SDK. Hopefully they'll do so in a subsequent version of LW.

    I'd offer to write up a feature request for it, and will if anyone at Newtek sees a point to it. However, formally describing such functionality is fairly involved, and kind of exceeds the scale of what normally constitutes a "feature request"... it's more of a "feature system" than "feature", per se. The main request is to enable user-extensibility and generic reuse of the "token" functionality throughout IO input fields within LW (filenames, buffer names, expressions, overlay text, and other similar uses).

    The big problem with implementing such a thing now is that it'd require fairly low-level changes to how all text input fields' contents are parsed, and all that occurs in rather "SDK-inaccessible" portions of the current UI engine. The existing equivalents to "tokens" are all hard-wired special cases, with no evidence of more general infrastructure present/available (as in, there doesn't appear to be a proper "extensible indirection" mechanism involved).

    Hopefully, if Newtek is working on widespread replacement of the UI engine with Qt, they'll keep in mind to at least implement the proper abstractions to allow such parsing/modification by custom libraries down the road, even if they don't necessarily implement anything using those hooks immediately. It's not difficult or particularly performance-impairing, it's mostly about ensuring there's a proper abstraction layer for text inputs that allows for subsequent modification routines to be plugged in down the road (or even better, a generalization that allows user-extensible additions of such modification routines).
    Last edited by jwiede; 01-21-2019 at 11:58 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.7 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  4. #4
    Dreamer Ztreem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,050
    Don't use slow bloatware as Adobe Bridge. Use this instead: https://www.bulkrenameutility.co.uk/ It can rename your file in all possible ways, just a great utility to have when working with image sequences.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    4,994
    Or get Directory Opus, which is sooooo much more than just a great renamer.

    https://www.gpsoft.com.au/

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (388.13, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  7. #7
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,391
    Quote Originally Posted by BeeVee View Post
    Or get Directory Opus, which is sooooo much more than just a great renamer.

    https://www.gpsoft.com.au/


    Been using Directory Opus for decades (on Windows, and before that, Amiga), it's an amazing package, and incredibly powerful.

    If you're already using DirOpus, I also recommend checking out DearOpus, a great "tricks & tips" site for Directory Opus!
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.7 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •