Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Got a new PC with Windows 10

  1. #1

    Got a new PC with Windows 10

    Hope someone can help. My company just got us new PC's with Windows 10 and so far things seem to be okay with one exception: Modeler and Layout will not remember their position on screen. It's close but it is moved ever so slightly and very annoying. I use Layout on full screen mode, but the other panels move ever so slightly. Anybody have any ideas?

    Setup just right.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Okay.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	373.3 KB 
ID:	143498


    After closing and restarting.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Not_Okay.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	385.8 KB 
ID:	143499
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  2. #2
    Super Member JohnMarchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Murcia, Spain
    Posts
    2,807
    The same here Tim, its a windows thing. SOmething to do with the autosize function. You know when it tries to autosize a window to top or bottom. Its something to do with that, yes its annoying and no i did not find a way around it.
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

    LightWave 2018.4

    Very nice Laptop

  3. #3
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,348
    Try this to force Windows to remember its windows' positions.

    http://www.desksoft.com/WindowManager.htm
    Win10 64 - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb, Nvidia GTX 1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820. Screens: 2 x Samsung s27a850ds 2560x1440, HP 1920x1200 in portrait mode

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnMarchant View Post
    The same here Tim, its a windows thing. SOmething to do with the autosize function. You know when it tries to autosize a window to top or bottom. Its something to do with that, yes its annoying and no i did not find a way around it.
    That's crazy! How long until they fix it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rayek View Post
    Try this to force Windows to remember its windows' positions.

    http://www.desksoft.com/WindowManager.htm
    I guess I'll give that a go. Thanks
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  5. #5
    Super Member JohnMarchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Murcia, Spain
    Posts
    2,807
    Not sure they ever will Tim, its very annoying on 4k screens as well,and of course 4k screens are another problem.
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

    LightWave 2018.4

    Very nice Laptop

  6. #6
    Registered User ianr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Chiltern Riviera
    Posts
    1,285
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Parsons View Post
    Hope someone can help. My company just got us new PC's with Windows 10 and so far things seem to be okay with one exception: Modeler and Layout will not remember their position on screen. It's close but it is moved ever so slightly and very annoying. I use Layout on full screen mode, but the other panels move ever so slightly. Anybody have any ideas?

    Setup just right.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Okay.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	373.3 KB 
ID:	143498


    After closing and restarting.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Not_Okay.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	385.8 KB 
ID:	143499

    Ask Oliver Holtz if his Od Tools.p. plugin stops this? then get it.

  7. #7
    This is win10 thing, window of modeler look like they have very tin borders (bezels) but internaly Microsoft is just "hiding" part of borders so they are actually thick as on win7 so thus they always move from the edges of the screen by 2-3 pixels. If you resize/save them manually a bit smaller than edges of the screen it will stay that way saved but there is no way to save position if you stretched all modeler windows at full widt'h of monitor (unless using full screen but than you cant' have all other panels on a side). Stupid as hell and it annoyed me for weeks but now i use it that way (slightly smaller than actual screen) and that's it .
    M$ Windows 10 is modern Virus with it's quirks and forced updates that always break something .
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  8. #8
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,348
    I tested this with Window Manager, and with an enforced rule WM will reposition the LW window properly.

    Win10 64 - i7 [email protected], p6t Deluxe v1, 48gb, Nvidia GTX 1080 8GB, Revodrive X2 240gb, e-mu 1820. Screens: 2 x Samsung s27a850ds 2560x1440, HP 1920x1200 in portrait mode

  9. #9
    Interesting, I always wondered about that too and now I know it's a Win 10 thing.
    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •