Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Newtek Connect Pro

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    59

    Newtek Connect Pro

    I've brought connect pro to the latest version. I can not start it now. An update of the driver for the graphics card is required. I have done that, it is the version 416.34 from 10.10.2018 installed. Nevertheless, the error message comes.
    What can I do????
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	driver_940M.PNG 
Views:	26 
Size:	7.8 KB 
ID:	143305  
    Tricaster 460AE2 + 460CS
    3 x JVC GY-HM890
    Panasonic AW-UE70
    Newtek PTZ1 | Newtek Spark HDMI | Newtek Spark SDI

  2. #2
    Install v399 of the nVidia drivers, there have been some issues verifying the drivers when using versions numbers of 400 and higher. I'll put in a bug report on this.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    59
    Thanks Kane,
    this error message is now gone. Now comes an error message from the internal graphics card. An Intel driver I can not use. It is a driver of Accer necessary. I have the current one. The previous version of Connect Pro also ran on the laptop. What can I do?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	driver_intel.PNG 
Views:	13 
Size:	31.1 KB 
ID:	143309  
    Tricaster 460AE2 + 460CS
    3 x JVC GY-HM890
    Panasonic AW-UE70
    Newtek PTZ1 | Newtek Spark HDMI | Newtek Spark SDI

  4. #4
    If this is a laptop that has both nVidia and Intel graphics, use the nVidia control panel to set Connect Pro to use the nVidia GPU. On my laptop, I set the preferred GPU to the nVidia so all software defaults to using it.
    Last edited by kanep; 11-08-2018 at 01:42 PM.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1
    I am having the exact same issue. Will try reverting back to pre-400 drivers.

    EDIT: Just reverted to 392.00 and it worked! Thank you!
    Last edited by tuckerwagner; 11-08-2018 at 06:15 PM.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    59
    I tried it. But the Intel graphics card in the laptop can not be disabled and not uninstall. I take another computer now. Which graphics card is needed? Intel is not working?

    Hartmut
    Tricaster 460AE2 + 460CS
    3 x JVC GY-HM890
    Panasonic AW-UE70
    Newtek PTZ1 | Newtek Spark HDMI | Newtek Spark SDI

  7. #7
    You don't need to uninstall or disable the Intel, just use the nVidia control panel to set the nVidia GPU as the preferred.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nVidia.png 
Views:	12 
Size:	55.0 KB 
ID:	143344
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    59
    Hi Kane,

    yes, I understood that and tried. But if I want to start Connect Pro but still the Intel driver to be renewed. But if I go to Intel - there is the newest driver installed.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nvidia.PNG 
Views:	10 
Size:	275.7 KB 
ID:	143347  
    Tricaster 460AE2 + 460CS
    3 x JVC GY-HM890
    Panasonic AW-UE70
    Newtek PTZ1 | Newtek Spark HDMI | Newtek Spark SDI

  9. #9
    I do not now. My laptop has both Intel and nVidia GPUs, my Intel model is a 5600 GPU. I'm not seeing that.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •