Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Difference between Full NDI and NDI-HX

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    447

    Difference between Full NDI and NDI-HX

    Can anyone tell me the difference between Full NDI and NDI-HX? Is there a place I can go to find some info on it. Searches don't give me anything.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,495
    Found some side-by-side specs here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network_Device_Interface

    In general, a stream of NDI|HX can be like 10x smaller than full NDI. Other differences as well, but data rate is the main one.

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    447
    So, the NDI is much larger, but I don't see anything about latency. Isn't the NDI full going to be better?

  4. #4
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,069
    Yes. NDI rivals SDI for latency. NDI HX is a little slower.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    447
    Is NewTek planning on coming out with a PTZ with full NDI soon?

  6. #6
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,069
    I'm sorry, I know there are efforts underway (and not just here) but I can't safely offer a prediction on timing.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    447
    But it is something in the works?

  8. #8
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,069
    Quote Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
    But it is something in the works?
    Well, about that:

    I know there are efforts underway (and not just here)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    447
    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Bordeaux
    Posts
    6
    NDI|HX is simply a Long-GOP H.264/AAC feed being wrapped into NDI protocol for auto discovery. Newtek Spark is a slightly modified version of a chinese RTSP encoder (by Kiloview manufacturer).

    Australian Bird-Dog has announced real NDI PTZ cameras (based on their FPGA): http://www.bird-dog.tv/ptz-range/

    Guillaume

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    447
    Another question about full NDI that I may have missed. If you only have a gig network will full NDI fill up the gig pretty fast or does it not work like that? What I have seen is that full NDI takes up 125mb of bandwidth. 6 cameras plus is pushing it unless NDI only takes up space only when it is being used. Anyone know?

  12. #12
    NDI uses no bandwidth until a connection is created between devices, so you can have as many NDI devices available on your network as you want. After that bandwidth management can come into play depending on how the sources are being used and with what products you are talking about. Also you can configure NDI to use Unicast or Multicast transmission methods which can also affect overall bandwidth usage.

    I usually test people to plan for worse case (6 x 125mb/s) just to be safe and know that in many cases you will be using less bandwidth than expected.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    447
    So are you saying that if I have 6 or 7 Full NDI devices on our stream, only one will take up bandwidth at a time?

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by ingeborgdot View Post
    So are you saying that if I have 6 or 7 Full NDI devices on our stream, only one will take up bandwidth at a time?
    It depends on the product and how the channels are being used in your program. All connected channels are going to use some bandwidth, but bandwidth management can make it so not all them are running at maximum. It really comes down to how you use the channels, if you put all 6 or 7 in a M/E and put that M/E on program output, then yes you will need bandwidth for all of the channels.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    447
    They will all be in a live setting with just the standard inputs used. We are streaming live sporting events and don't use the M/E for that. We just switch between cameras on our program output.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •