Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Texture

  1. #1
    Registered User Rizwan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Huntsville,Alabama
    Posts
    82

    Texture

    I went online to download a texture. I want a brown hair texture. I made sure the texture is a jpeg image so I can open my texture in LightWave. When I move the texture to my desktop I try to see if the texture will open in Lightwave Modeler. When I open the surface editor to load my texture. I open up the Surface Editor. On the top right hand corner of the Surface Editor I change the material from Principled BSDF to Standard. Ok now on the side I have the E and T buttons enabled. I click on the T button on the first row which says Color. After I click on the T button and then I go to find the image in the texture editor. And the image which I downloaded is greyed out even though it was a jpeg image. How do I get the greyed out image to open?

  2. #2
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,064
    Are you sure you have read permissions for that location?

    Are you perhaps running LW as admin, and attempting to access a network location? If so, admin-elevated apps don't have same access perms as user-level apps when it comes to network resources ("split-token issue") and that could be causing the problem.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

  3. #3
    Super Member Snosrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    4,912
    I've downloaded jpeg's that won't load into photoshop. Luckily I also have Affinity Photo which loads them fine and resaved them as.jpg. My guess is you have the same thing going on. Something is up with the format.

  4. #4
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    4,906
    @Rizwan, have you tried just dragging and dropping the image icon over Layout or Modeler to load it?

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (398.36, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  5. #5
    Check to see if it is CMYK - LW doesn't like them. Needs to be RGB.
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  6. #6
    I'm not sure if a jpeg image can be CMYK. I could be wrong about that though.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by JamesCurtis View Post
    I'm not sure if a jpeg image can be CMYK. I could be wrong about that though.
    It most certainly can. And LW doesn't like them.
    Tim Parsons
    Technical Designer
    Sauder Woodworking Co.

    http://www.sauder.com

  8. #8
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    533
    A link to the texture could explain a lot.

    If the image opens in Photoshop, "export" in newer versions or "save for web" in older versions to JPG. This process can strip cruddy metadata and ensure you have a RGB image (not CMYK).
    Last edited by raymondtrace; 10-10-2018 at 12:26 PM.
    LW7.5D, LW2015.3, LW2018.0.x running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •