Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Streaming to an IP?

  1. #1
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    631

    Streaming to an IP?

    I am a 860 AE version 1.
    All my streaming to date has been RTMP type on Youtube, Ustream etc.
    Is there a way for my to stream to an IP address? Never done that.
    Was hoping to stream inside a hotel just to another room.
    Thanks
    Ed
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 855 Owner

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,411
    Hi Ed,

    I'd just use the NDI output of TriCaster, and then receive it in other room using NDI Studio Monitor. No cost, no fuss, no latency.

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  3. #3
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    631
    With AE1 I think there is NDI functionality but never have used. Would need more on that. NDI output I asssume is
    an output to the network. and a laptop with the NDI monitor in another room?
    Just would need more on how to set up NDI out I guess.
    Ed
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 855 Owner

  4. #4
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    18,871
    There's nothing to set up. Simply install NDI Tool on the laptop, launch Studio Monitor, right click the Studio Monitor window, and select the NDI stream you want to connect to from those listed in the menu.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  5. #5
    A hotel might have the network locked down that would prevent NDI from seeing each other depending how it is configured, I'd recommending testing if you can. Also, NDI is really designed for wired networks, if the hotel only has WiFi the room the experience might not be very good.

    However, if everything is right on their network, then NDI Studio Monitor would be a great solution.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  6. #6
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    18,871
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    A hotel might have the network locked down that would prevent NDI from seeing each other depending how it is configured, I'd recommending testing if you can. Also, NDI is really designed for wired networks, if the hotel only has WiFi the room the experience might not be very good.

    However, if everything is right on their network, then NDI Studio Monitor would be a great solution.
    Ah, I missed the critical reference to a hotel, good catch!
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  7. #7
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    631
    Sorry for the stupid question.... since I have done little with NDI ...
    WIth my 860 AE1 where would the NDI stream menu be? Does it show up once I active the NDI montor?
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 855 Owner

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,451
    Is Windows Media Pull still a thing? That might do it too at a lower data rate than NDI. I haven't done that in a while, but it was a useful point-to-point kind of thing without a CDN. Your destination computer would just need to know the IP of the TriCaster and could go in and "pull" the stream off on the fly.

    Kris
    TriCaster: 850, 850 Extreme, 855 & 8000
    CG: LiveText2 - With LT[Scoreboards]
    Cameras: Sony NX5 (SDI & ATEM with Tactical Fiber)
    Macros: YoungMonkey MasterControl, Belkin N52

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,411
    I don't recall if AE1 even had NDI...I thought you'd finally bit the bullet and went to AE2 (I see your posts from time to time) but I guess not. What is holding you back, 8 record channels?

    What is the distance to the other room you need to broadcast to? Because you do NOT need to be on the local network necessarily to use NDI - if within reach, quite simply run a CAT-6 cable from TriCaster direct to the laptop and VOILA!

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,411
    NDI is my first and best recommendation, but not knowing if AE1 even supports that, this may be another old-school option for you.

    https://www.newtek.com/blog/tips/how...etwork-output/

    Thanks
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  11. #11
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    631
    WOW. Thanks Jeff. this link is a great tutorial on streaming to VLC.
    I will give that a try this week.

    No still on AE1. Have not had time to deal with the necessary steps like downloading new video drivers etc.
    I dont like not having choices for encoding. I am thinking of staying at AE1 so I can encode to mp4, QY422 or even AVI and MPEG.
    The only catch is some streaming limitations... as long as I use a CDN that takes RTMP I should be ok for a while.
    Had to kill the UStream acct since they doubled the price on me. So looking for a new low priced CDN.
    I only stream one or two big conferences a year.

    Thanks for your help.
    Ed
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 855 Owner

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,411
    Hi Ed,

    Even though the main recorders are locked to .mov format, you can also record a single .mp4 stream in addition to main .mov recordings with AE2

    You are missing out on so many features and performance upgrades ;-)

    Regarding the VLC instructions, you'd not be using recording but should be good up to that for viewing.

    About recording other formats, that is something NDI offers via third-party software. For instance, going into vMix you can record to many different codecs, or I know that the free OBS software can record NDI as .mp4 as I've actually done that myself. So you gain external record options with AE2 and the 4 unique NDI outputs you get (plus camera inputs are also turned into NDI automatically).

    Thanks
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  13. #13
    The last versions of AE1 did support NDI if I recall correctly. You can bring up to two channels using the NDI inputs and if you activate the NETWORK output, you would get one NDI channel of output.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,411
    Kane brings up a point I missed answering from earlier post - in Output Configuration panel, place a check next to NETWORK and that will enable the NDI output, even though it doesn't say anything about NDI. I forgot about that since NDI output is automatic on AE2 versions.
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •