Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: python bake instance broken

  1. #1

    python bake instance broken

    Is it just me or is this script broken in lw2018 ? It worked for me in lw2015 ..
    martin dulovits
    technical director

    www.woogieworks.com

  2. #2
    Top Dog
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,019
    I used 2018.0.6 over the past few days without trouble.

  3. #3
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,621
    I didn't try this script, but in LW 2018 they removed majority of Modeler-like modeling functionality in Layout (it's not possible to issue Modeler commands anymore).
    Therefor I had to make special LW 2018 version of TrueType Text plugin (it used modeling command inside of Layout on earlier versions of LW).
    Last edited by Sensei; 09-13-2018 at 04:19 PM.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

  4. #4
    The natively included script works just fine... just keep in mind that you have to select the instanced object and then bake, not the instancer... thats just how the native tool works, and has always worked.

  5. #5
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,680
    Quote Originally Posted by oliverhotz View Post
    The natively included script works just fine... just keep in mind that you have to select the instanced object and then bake, not the instancer... thats just how the native tool works, and has always worked.
    It does work that way

    ... But that method does seem like the opposite way around to what I'd expect.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    It does work that way

    ... But that method does seem like the opposite way around to what I'd expect.
    i'm not gonna debate how it works.. .the poster was simply implying that it didnt work.... but it does..... Mike Green has a free instance baker that works as you would expect (by selecting the instancer), and there's also one in ODTools, that works with animated instances as well.

  7. #7
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,680
    Absolutely, but just saying that it may be user error, based on a strange tool logic, rather than the plugin not working.

    Obviously yours and Mike's are a welcome addition too.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    Absolutely, but just saying that it may be user error, based on a strange tool logic, rather than the plugin not working.

    Obviously yours and Mike's are a welcome addition too.
    I really used it in a wrong way at first ( I of course selected the instancer ) but even when I realized my error it didnt really work for me . The baked object changed size and orientation ..
    I test the script from mike green .. maybe I have more luck with this ..
    martin dulovits
    technical director

    www.woogieworks.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •