Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: How to Advance Backgrounds in Teleprompter Setup With a Fade?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    32

    How to Advance Backgrounds in Teleprompter Setup With a Fade?

    Hello. I am a novice user with an HD4 Mini, which I bought to make teaching videos. I am both the talent and the operator. Basically I want to sit in a chair in front of a green screen, with me positioned in the left half of the screen. Then I want to advance text and images in the right side of the screen with a fade (not jump cuts), and talk about them. The only catch is that I need to use a teleprompter, and I am having a hard time figuring out a good workflow. Does anyone have any ideas?

    In my old teleprompter workflow, ME1 was a LiveMatte Camera 1 over a still background image in a frame buffer (so basically, my talking head over a still). Then for ME2 Camera 1 is minimized down into the lower-left-hand corner of the screen, and text and images from GFX1 fill the rest of the screen. Then ME4 had GFX1 rotated 180 degrees about the Y axis, to feed the teleprompter. Shifting back and forth from ME1 to ME2 gave me the fade I wanted, but people said they want me to stay up on the screen while I am talking about the slides in GFX1 (because they want to be able to watch my facial expressions, it seems). So now I need to figure out how to stay up on the screen, feed a teleprompter, and still get a fade.

    I made new PowerPoint slides that put me on the left side of the screen, and all text and images in the right half of the screen. I thought to set ME1 and ME2 to the same specifications, put the odd-numbered slides in GFX1 and the even numbered slides in GFX2, and simply transition back and forth between them with the space bar. That would give me the fade I need, but I can't figure out how to feed the teleprompter (because ME4 will only draw from GFX1 or GFX2, but not both). So does anyone know how I could stay up in the left half of the screen, advance my stills with a fade, and still feed a teleprompter? If this has been covered elsewhere, I would be glad for the link. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    475
    I'd suggest you use a separate computer to run the free Autocue QStart application. It can be run on a $99 Windows 10 tablet. If the tablet has Bluetooth, it can be controlled from a wireless mouse, too. It will also reverse the text so it can be displayed using a mirrored, through the lens style prompter.

    It's a very good program and the price is right.

    www.Autocue.com

    Once you download it and install, you do have to go through their registration process which generates a license key, at no charge. That's a holdover from when it was a purchased application, I guess.

    Fritz Golman
    Museum of Broadcast Communications

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    32
    Fritz, thank you very much. If I understand, first I need to learn NDI. Then I need to install Autocue QStart on a computer with PowerPoint as an input over Ethernet. Then I need to set ME1 as Camera 1 (Layer A) over my PowerPoint computer input (Layer B), and record. Cabling is HDMI to the teleprompter, and Ethernet between the computer and Tricaster. That gives me a direction to try.
    I hope you have a wonderful day.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    475
    Actually, if all you're looking to do is run a teleprompter, independently of the TriCaster, you don't need NDI at all. The program will work stand-alone on a tablet that can be in the teleprompter head (or you can use a conventional PC and hook it up to a monitor in the teleprompter head).

    NDI is nice, you can use it to distribute the Qstart output on multiple displays. And you can use WiFi, so it's very easy. But, as noted, you don't need to use NDI at all.

    And, this will eliminate PowerPoint all together, too. Just run QStart and it will handle the prompting all by itself.

    FYI, although you can control from the keyboard or a mouse, there's also a very inexpensive USB controller that has a knob to run the direction and speed of the text. It's the Contour Design Shuttle Express (https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/searc...rch=yes&sts=ps).


    Fritz
    Last edited by fgolman; 08-23-2018 at 03:51 PM.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    32
    Thank you, Fritz. However, I apologize if I was not clear. Actually, what I am hoping for is that the slide can display in the teleprompter at the exact same time as it is being recorded by the TriCaster, as part of ME1.

    So in other words, what I want is for the slide to display in the teleprompter (with the contents in the right hand side of the slide), and then the TriCaster also simultaneously records an overlay of my smiling face (Layer A) as I talk about the contents in the right-hand side of the slide (Layer B). So I think I need to display and record the slide (as part of ME1) at the same time.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    475
    Ah, you want to run external slides and talk about them, not a true teleprompter with a script.

    SO, my suggestion then is to use NDI Tools with Scan Convertor to bring in the PowerPoint slides from an external computer as a layer you can put up in a DSK, sort of like what you're doing now. If you want to fade, you can set that up in PowerPoint. Alternatively, if you don't want to run the slides on an external computer, you can export them as JPEGs or PNGs and load them into a graphics player. Then, AE allows transitions in between each slide in a graphics player (I believe that ALT-F will create a fade element in the graphics player and then you can modify that transition as you wish).

    I believe that there are a number of multi-layer box effects that will assist you in this. Since you've got a Mini, doing comps to create your own boxes, on the fly, won't work (it takes a 460 or better).

    Fritz Golman

  7. #7
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    389
    Record yourself in front of the Green Screen, then bring those recordings into a DDR and then do everything else.
    This way you only have to worry about the teleprompter during recording.
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    32
    Fritz, thank you! I hooked up my laptop to Input 2 of the TriCaster via HDMI, and started the Scan Converter. Then I set ME1 as Camera 1 (with chroma) over Input 2 (PPT on laptop). This allows me to click through the presentation on my laptop (using a native PowerPoint fade).

    Next I tested your alternate. I put some .png slides in GFX1, selected them all (CTRL+A) and pressed ALT+F. AE did put a fade between all of the slides. This allows me to advance the slides with a smooth fade using the semicolon ; key. That is the solution I was looking for, so I will probably go that route.

    I apologize, I did not understand your last paragraph:
    >> I believe that there are a number of multi-layer box effects that will assist you in this. Since you've got a Mini, doing comps to create your own boxes, on the fly, won't work (it takes a 460 or better).
    Could you please help me to understand what you are saying here?
    Last edited by Nazarene; 08-26-2018 at 08:14 PM.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    32
    Stream, I like your idea. If I bring the Mix 1 .mov file into DDR1 and play it again, then do I apply motion graphics and lower thirds using the DSKs?

    And how much resolution does one lose in the re-rendering process?

    Also, do I put the lower thirds and motion graphics in the frame buffers?
    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    475
    So, as far as my comment about the multi-box, I was assuming that you wanted your slide graphic in one big box and your talking head (yourself) in a small box. As noted, in AE, you can do what are called 'comps' (compositions) which take all the various settings of size, position, etc, and can smoothly allow automatic keyframe animated transitions with the various boxes moving around. BUT, as I also noted, you can't do that on a Mini, so you've got to take pre-built multibox effects (Helix series, for example) and use those … assuming this is the route you want to go.

    Does this make sense?

    Thanks,

    Fritz

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    32
    Fritz, thanks. I think I understand what you are saying. I am not familiar with Helix, but it sounds like I need to check into it. (I also still need to learn Photoshop, After Effects, etc., etc.)

    Where could I learn more about Helix?
    Last edited by Nazarene; 08-27-2018 at 01:07 AM. Reason: Make clearer.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Racine
    Posts
    1,437
    Quote Originally Posted by Nazarene View Post
    Fritz, thanks. I think I understand what you are saying. I am not familiar with Helix, but it sounds like I need to check into it. (I also still need to learn Photoshop, After Effects, etc., etc.)

    Where could I learn more about Helix?
    Helix is simply one of the default Virtual Set backgrounds installed in your TriCaster, with double-box layouts. I would really suggest just poking around inside your TriCaster, digging through things to see what's in there, for instance take a look at all the different Virtual Sets available in an M/E so you are more familiar with the offerings.

    Thanks

    Jeff
    Jeff Pulera
    Streaming Broadcast Solutions - Newtek Elite

    TriCasters: Mini with AE, TC1
    Camera: Sony PMW-X70 4K
    Controllers: All variety of XKeys
    PTZ: Newtek NDIHX-PTZ1

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by JPulera View Post
    I would really suggest just poking around inside your TriCaster, digging through things to see what's in there, for instance take a look at all the different Virtual Sets available in an M/E so you are more familiar with the offerings.
    Thanks
    Jeff
    Jeff, thank you! That sounds like a very good idea. I will try to get in there and poke around, as time allows.

  14. #14
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    389
    Quote Originally Posted by Nazarene View Post
    Stream, I like your idea. If I bring the Mix 1 .mov file into DDR1 and play it again, then do I apply motion graphics and lower thirds using the DSKs?

    And how much resolution does one lose in the re-rendering process?

    Also, do I put the lower thirds and motion graphics in the frame buffers?
    Thanks.
    Yes, treat it just like a production. Set it up the same, just use the recording in a DDR instead of the camera input. I do a similar thing a lot and see no real loose of quality.
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  15. #15
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,320
    *Biggest problem is fading from slide to slide but you overcome this by adding the fade in the Powerpoint presentation when using a TC MINI
    Camera 1 on you, on green screen (I won't judge your art but having you over a slide is...) into Input 1 on TC MINI
    Then Laptop with Powerpoint into Input 2 TC MINI
    Output 1 set to program and Master
    Output 2 set to M/E 1 and displayed on a monitor that you can look at while you look at the camera
    *Please correct me when I am off
    Input 1 is keyed
    M/E 1 is designed as 2 Layer effect with A being input 1 and then you position and size to your liking, then Input B is Input 2 with no sizing
    You then just use AUTO with main bus effect set to FADE, and go from M/E 1 to Input 2 via spacebar to go from you superimposed over your slide to the slide full
    Right?
    This does not need to be pre recorded in this manner as Powerpoint is handling the slide fades and TriCaster is handling the fade from M/E 1 to Slide

    Now I would do it different;
    I would still key input 1
    Then choose a background of say artwork or picture that pertains to your field of expertise (example if I am teach Computer Networking, a picture of a Server room) and import into Buffer 1
    In M/E 1, 2 Layer effect, bus A, I would use Buffer 1 and size and crop it. On bus B would be Input 2 (Powerpoint) and finally Key1 would be Input 1 sized and positioned to fit over bus A
    In M/E 2, 2 layer effect, A bus is Input 1 full frame and bus B would be Buffer 1 full frame
    Show flow would be M/E 2 on program for me to do the opening of the show and I would add a lower third to name me via DSK1
    Then I would take to M/E 1 (I know you like fades so you could hit the spacebar) to show my 2 Box but instead of me being 80's superimposed, I would be in a box in the same room I was in when full screen. From here I would fade to the Powerpoint full and then back to M/E1 and so forth and so on.
    When I am ready to wrap up I would go back to M/E 2 and close the show.
    To help make this even easier, I would make three macros and assign them to the Number Pad. Macro 1=Me full (M/E2) on Preview, Macro 2=Me and my slide (M/E1) on preview and finally Macro 3=Slide only (Input 2) on preview. You can add your take or AUTo into the macro so that when you press one of the three macro's, it just happens.
    You could even create an Opening macro that plays you opening animation, fades to M/E 2 and after 1 or 2 seconds, brings up your lower third and hold it for 5 sec's and then take it off. Now you drive via your 3 macros. Of course you could add a Close macro as well to really tighten the flow of your show allowing you to focus on the content of the show and relax on its technical execution

    PS I did this exact workflow for a prominent university professor only difference is I added a iPAD running TouchOSC to allow him to run his macro's with spelled out box buttons on the iPad
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •