Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Motion Designer

Motion Designer

I find motion designer impossible to use if I want it to detect collisions.

Do you need to have the two materials that you want to collide as searate models? On separate layers? Or will just as separate materials do? Because it seems that no mater how I alter the setings, the material still goes through my model's legs.

Do you have one object set as target and the other set as collision?

I guess that must be the problem. It is a single mesh model, I was trying to do it with fixed and active materials. I'll break the model up and try again. Thanks.

I'm no expert on motion designer by any means. But if it's all one model, have you made sure self collision is on?

Yes, I did have self collision on, and by turning up the skin thickness on the material (legs) I wanted the fabric to collide against, I got some strange results. Ultimately, the cloth either flew up in the air, or it would just keep on going right through the legs.

Okay, so I've broken the model into a skirt and the body and legs. Now the problem is, how do I attach both the meshes to the bones? I can only get one mesh attached.

Is it possible to have two models atached to one set of bones animation?

Select the "boneless" object.
    Press "shift-b" to get into the bone mode.
    Hit "p" to get the bone properties.
    On top of the panel there's a pulldown menu wich says "Use bones from"... There you select the mesh with the bones.
    Voila. It will now be deformed by the bones of the other object. All the weight maps will be respected too.

Great. Thanks Pixelranger, I've got that done.