Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Hub and Modeller Crashing A LOT in 2018

  1. #1
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,731

    Hub and Modeller Crashing A LOT in 2018

    Hey there,

    Thought I'd ask in here as I'm having zero luck in trying to find repeatable steps to try and log a proper bug report.

    I'm getting CONSTANT crashing of Modeller & the Hub when switching between applications.
    Most noticeable for me are when I switch between Outlook 2013 or PowerPoint 2013 and then Modeller or Layout.

    I either get the Hub or Modeller crashing, seemingly randomly, but usually when I switch applications or have locked my screen and then log back in to work.
    The Event Viewer always says it's NT.dll causing the crash. Arrrrgh!!!
    When the Hub crashes, it then restarts itself, but I sometimes then lose my connection between Layout and Modeller.

    A MAJOR side-effect of the hub crashing is that it then causes Layout & Modeller to hang for 10-15 seconds when switching between them and any other app!


    Systems I see this on:

    #1
    Win 7 64-bit Enterprise
    GPU Quadro k5000
    Lots of LW Plugins installed

    #2
    Win 7 64-bit Enterprise (fresh build of Win 7)
    GPU GeForce 1080Ti
    Zero LW Plugins installed

    Has anyone else seen this?
    What are your system specs?


    Any help trying to nail this ***** would be greatly appreciated!

    Cheers,
    Tim
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  2. #2
    Animated Fool paulhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    757
    Similar experiences, Win 10 Pro, 2018.0.5.
    NVidia GTX 1070, lots of plugins always installed. System and graphics drivers kept up to date.
    Most likely after I have gone 'off' with some other application or browser. Modeler will crash out, and I will get the 'slow reaction' response from Layout and Modeler after that, switching back and forth.
    Just down loaded 2018.0.6, so I will see if this persists after, "upgrading," setting all of the preferences and menus, etc......
    An eye for an eye, and the whole world goes blind... Gandhi/MLKing
    Greater consciousness is worth the effort. Be aware.... so sayest the Animated Fool ~ HARTWORKS www.hartworks.net

  3. #3
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,731
    Sounds exactly like what I'm seeing. Thanks for replying.
    What I'm baffled by is why isn't everyone seeing this?

    Maybe not everyone uses the hub, or isn't using LW in the same way as I do?

    I've tried on a machine with a single monitor, to see if that was the cause, but nope, does it on a dual monitor machine or a single monitor.
    Does it on Win 10 and Win 7... With quadro gpu or GeForce.

    Think it's just some communications issue between the hub and LightWave, but so far I just get crashing nt.dll reports and that doesn't help apparently.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  4. #4
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,408
    The last time I had laggy performance between Modeler, Layout, and Hub turned out be be the fault of my Antivirus package. And yes, it caused nt.dll crashes. This was back in the 11.6.2 days.

    Some packages don't like how The Hub talks with the rest of lightwave.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  5. #5
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    945
    In my case 2018 work very stability, but lag's between layout and modeler as usual thing especially on complex objects.

  6. #6
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,284
    Don't think the Hub has 'ever' crashed for me (Mac system).
    But then I have NO Microsoft apps.......
    Mac Pro (2010) OSX 10.13 RX580 Pulse LW2019

  7. #7
    Has anyone found ā solution for this problem ? I still have A LOT of crashes when switching apps. Modeler crashes and hub restart itself
    Had these crashes in LW2018, still have them in LW2019

  8. #8
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,731
    Quote Originally Posted by Mastoy View Post
    Has anyone found ā solution for this problem ? I still have A LOT of crashes when switching apps. Modeler crashes and hub restart itself
    Had these crashes in LW2018, still have them in LW2019
    Turning off the hub is the only solution for me. Not sure what causes the crashes

    Are you on Windows 7 or 10?
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    Turning off the hub is the only solution for me. Not sure what causes the crashes

    Are you on Windows 7 or 10?
    Windows 10
    I'm gonna investigate the firewall settings and see if I could get an improvement.

  10. #10
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,731
    Quote Originally Posted by Mastoy View Post
    Windows 10
    I'm gonna investigate the firewall settings and see if I could get an improvement.
    I seem to see more issues at work, on win 7 enterprise, than at home on win 10 Pro.
    No idea why, but I imagine there's lots of scanning and lock downs on my win 7 work machine that causes issues with the hub. Not sure though, as LW 2015 was absolutely fine.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  11. #11
    Super Member JohnMarchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Murcia, Spain
    Posts
    2,850
    Interested to see how your investigations go Mastoy, i have intemittant problems with 2019 Hub sometimes starts and sometimes does not, never had it before in 2018 or 2015 with Win10
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

    LightWave 2018.4

    Very nice Laptop

  12. #12
    Well ... deleting the rules set by LW in the Windows Firewall is not a good idea
    I expected LW to recreate them the next time I started it but no ... LW simply can't validate the license key and always start in discovery mode.
    So I made a clean uninstall / reinstall and without any plugin, the crashes seem to be gone.
    I'm currently reinstalling all my plugins one by one and making tests between each one.
    LWCAD, Octane and ODTools seem ok, no crash so far. Pursuing investigations


    QUICK EDIT : LW hub and Modeler were crashing A LOT when I installed LW without the python add-ons. This time I installed them and so far no crash. Could be irrelevant but still worth mentionning.
    Last edited by Mastoy; 02-10-2019 at 05:18 AM.

  13. #13
    Super Member JohnMarchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Murcia, Spain
    Posts
    2,850
    Thanks Mastoy, i was hoping to avoid a full reinstall, but maybe thats the only way. i Have finally got all versions of LW cleaned off my computer apart from 2019. Interesting point about Python, Oliver Hotz pointed out that you need to install these for his tools to work correctly. I think i may wait until the next update for 2019, the hub periodically works in Layout but not modeler, well i can live with this for the time being i think. To much on to go through all the reinstall hassle for me.
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

    LightWave 2018.4

    Very nice Laptop

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •