Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: 2018 FiberFX - better Antialiasing

  1. #1

    2018 FiberFX - better Antialiasing


    the nice thing about the old FiberFX is that it used strokes, and therefore had nice antialiasing.

    in FiberFX 2018 however, it creates a more noisy result, especially for animation.

    how do other applications go about this?


    example from another app >




    additional note, if someone can test...
    using a trial here 2018.1 tip transparency is broken ?
    does 2018.5 work with tip transparency ?

    edit, hm... so it seems to work
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/ligh...6634132775914/
    Last edited by erikals; 07-31-2018 at 08:32 AM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  2. #2
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    886
    I use the tip transparency with Octane and everything works well. This, of course, different nodes, but the FFX system itself works fine.

  3. #3

    thanks,   yes, not sure why, the tip renders black where it should be transparent,
    either a mistake by me or LW2018.1   will check further...
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  4. #4
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    5,972
    Quote Originally Posted by OFF View Post
    but the FFX system itself works fine.
    You might want to stand near a lightning rod when making such statements.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

  5. #5

    not on top though...

    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  6. #6
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,220
    IMHO, FFX is a finicky beast. One wrong bit of data somewhere, and it goes down, often times taking layout with it. The dynamic load / offload of fibers on a per frame basis leads to lag... and it gets worse with every layer you add...

    Ahem.

    That being ranted, the work around for the lack of AA in fur and hair is to increase the number of camera AA passes. It's an unacceptable work around, especially for those concerned about render times. What, however, can be done to ameliorate / eliminate it? Per object AA levels? Automatically doubling AA samples on the fiber primitive? Giving FFX a sample setting of its own?
    --------
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  7. #7
    Yeah fine lines (such as FFX) is one reason to raise minimum samples above 1, or else it will 'miss' and you'll get gaps and missing bits in the lines. AA in LW has always been a bit weak on 'fine' lines, it's not specifically an issue with FFX. Hopefully that can be looked at more in the future.

  8. #8
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    5,972
    Quote Originally Posted by Kryslin View Post
    Giving FFX a sample setting of its own?
    It always seemed kind of odd to me that wasn't there from the start -- most other distinct "special material" types have their own sample controls (refl/refr, SSS, volumetrics), so why don't fiber layers? The exact same justification for the other "special material" types needing specific sampling controls seem every bit as valid regarding fiber layers. At the least, having some kind of per-layer "sampling multiplier" (on top of a scene "FFX samples" setting) would help mitigate scale differences between different fiber layers.

    Worth filing a feature request. You want to, or shall I?
    Last edited by jwiede; 08-01-2018 at 06:19 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

  9. #9
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,220
    I'll let you.
    --------
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  10. #10
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    5,972
    Quote Originally Posted by Kryslin View Post
    I'll let you.
    Will do so tomorrow, have a bug and another f.req to file as well.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

  11. #11
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    5,972
    Quote Originally Posted by jwiede View Post
    Will do so tomorrow, have a bug and another f.req to file as well.
    Filed as LWF-1989 ("FFX layers need sample controls").
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •