Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can I import 3ds max objects into lw 9.6 ?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Augusta, GA(usa)
    Posts
    524

    Can I import 3ds max objects into lw 9.6 ?

    Hi all:

    I just got a excellent book, 'modelling a character in 3ds max' by Steed.
    The author modelled the objects for quake 3 (Carmack's ID software) using
    3ds max. The design chapter was amazing to read and it can easily be
    applied to lightwave. This book is easy to follow, and I can use it
    to expand my lightwave character modelling skill. I can get a whole
    lot of stuff out of this book.
    The book comes with a cd included, which has all the meshes in it,
    for 3ds max.
    Would it be possible to import these meshes into lightwave 9.6 ?
    Are there any constraints I should be aware of ?
    In any case, if you are learning character modelling I suggest getting
    this book.
    Cheers !!!
    -Mobilis In Mobile-

  2. #2
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    5,906
    If the models are in .MAX format, then you're probably stuck. Even the few converters than work with .MAX files require Max installed on same machine to access them.

    Perhaps find someone with Max who'll convert them to OBJ, FBX, or LWO for you?
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.5),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

  3. #3
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    13,751
    Quote Originally Posted by jwiede View Post
    If the models are in .MAX format, then you're probably stuck. Even the few converters than work with .MAX files require Max installed on same machine to access them.

    Perhaps find someone with Max who'll convert them to OBJ, FBX, or LWO for you?
    Do you exclude 3ds format for a reason?

  4. #4
    Dreamer Ztreem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,940
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    Do you exclude 3ds format for a reason?
    It’s an old format that not anyone use anymore. Its limited to only tris and max 65 000 polys.

  5. #5
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    5,906
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    Do you exclude 3ds format for a reason?
    Yes, because "3DSMax" (specifically cited by rednova in book title) uses .MAX, not .3DS, as its standard format. .3DS is from pre-"Max" versions of 3DS.

    Ztreem's points are also correct, in that .3DS isn't generally that useful anymore, period.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.5),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

  6. #6
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    13,751
    Quote Originally Posted by jwiede View Post
    Yes, because "3DSMax" (specifically cited by rednova in book title) uses .MAX, not .3DS, as its standard format. .3DS is from pre-"Max" versions of 3DS.

    Ztreem's points are also correct, in that .3DS isn't generally that useful anymore, period.
    yes..but you canīt use max scene format in to lightwave, so a must export to something else..but of course, fbx would be better, do not have the full list of what max now exports and what is best.

    there are still a lot of free models online that is in 3ds format, I was looking for a simple boat model and found this...however when importing to Lightwave... the mesh segments became all screwed up in placement, while importing the same 3ds mesh in blender worked perfectly, saving it out from blender as obj made it work perfectly as a mesh again in Lightwave

    Try it or just donīt do it
    https://free3d.com/3d-model/boat-3d-model-80362.html

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •