Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Dissolve Dielectric material after two rays?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kranj
    Posts
    98

    Dissolve Dielectric material after two rays?

    Hi

    Is it possible to setup glass material to just 'disappear' after first two rays?

    The reason is that I am getting really low render times if I reduce ray recursion limit from 6 to 3, but if I render corner glass window I need more rays to pass through both glass panels otherwise I get black area.

    I can remove glass panel that is behind the first panel, but that is just more work in modeler etc...

    I saw a dissolve input in ray type switch node, but I don't get wanted results.

    Is it possible?

    Best regards
    Matej

  2. #2
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,630
    Try using Material Tools > Switch.
    In Input node get Bounces, plug it to Math > Scalar > Logic node (A input), set up less or equal to 3 (or whatever) (B input), and use it as source of True in Switch node.
    2nd material set up Standard material entire black with everything cleared and plug to Switch False.
    Adjust Logic B input to see whether there is visible any change.
    Just a thought.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kranj
    Posts
    98
    Found it

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ClipGlass.jpg 
Views:	77 
Size:	925.2 KB 
ID:	142269

  4. #4
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,071
    (removed due to error)
    Last edited by jwiede; 07-15-2018 at 05:32 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

  5. #5
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,630
    Quote Originally Posted by medzo View Post
    Found it
    I like it.
    The more optimal than my approach (although using my Logic node)..
    In older LW you would not be able to do it this way, as there is no Clip input.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •