Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Reality Capture tutorial

  1. #1

    Reality Capture tutorial

    Hey guys, just wanted to share that I have a new tutorial on 3D scanning with a camera using Reality Capture.

    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  2. #2
    Thanks for the head up
    Eddy Marillat - PIXYM
    WS : MB ASUS X299-Pro/SE - i9 7980XE 2,6ghz 18C/36T - 32GB Ram- 2 GTX 1080 TI - Win 10 64
    GPU Net Rig : MB Biostar - Celeron 2,8 ghz 2C/2T - 8GB Ram - 2 RTX 2080 TI - Win 7 64

  3. #3
    Super Member XswampyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kernow
    Posts
    2,069
    Thanks for that. It's a bit of an elaborate set up. Can you do something similar with a building or statue out in the real world?

    I know you can, but will you?

  4. #4
    Super Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    986
    I tested this a few months ago, with 3D Zephyr.

    It was a test, only a few photos (about 20-30 perhaps?)



    At first it shows the original scan.
    Then I switch to a retopoed version with baked textures.
    Last edited by OlaHaldor; 05-14-2018 at 03:37 AM.
    3D Generalist
    Threadripper 2920x, 128GB, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10

  5. #5
    Super Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    986
    Another one, taken next to the path in a forest
    3D Generalist
    Threadripper 2920x, 128GB, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10

  6. #6
    A.K.A "The Silver Fox" Gungho3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oztralia
    Posts
    411
    First impressions: can't knock the mesh output of Phil's Reality Capture demo, but the pricing is a bit exce$$ive for me.

    The 3D Zephyr offering seems a bit more accessible price-wise, but that's without having put either product through any testing of my own.

  7. #7
    Super Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    986
    I tested Reality Capture when it was in beta, and free for anyone to try. But when I saw the pricing, it's simply a no go. Way too expensive. I guess they have their market, but I'm certainly not part of it, sadly.
    My experience with Reality Capture is it's blazing fast, and usually get good results.

    Zephyr is also good, just not as fast. Doesn't take any more effort to get good results like Reality Capture in my opinion. After all it's all in the photos you take. Do they overlap enough, are they sharp etc.
    3D Generalist
    Threadripper 2920x, 128GB, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10

  8. #8
    I will be doing at least one more tutorial and it will be outside. Actually one of the VFW Posts nearby has a tank out front and I was thinking of testing how it will work on that. I did test with a bronze statue of Ben Franklin that was outside and it had just rained so that was a good test.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ben-scan_01.jpg 
Views:	77 
Size:	237.1 KB 
ID:	141735
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ben-scan_02.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	217.2 KB 
ID:	141736

    Another option is trying to use my drone to scan a larger thing like a building.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  9. #9
    A.K.A "The Silver Fox" Gungho3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oztralia
    Posts
    411
    Quote Originally Posted by Philbert View Post
    I will be doing at least one more tutorial and it will be outside. Actually one of the VFW Posts nearby has a tank out front and I was thinking of testing how it will work on that. I did test with a bronze statue of Ben Franklin that was outside and it had just rained so that was a good test.

    Another option is trying to use my drone to scan a larger thing like a building.
    Cool Phil - some of us may see this product as not being required for current needs, but posts and tutes like yours which demonstrate niche capability are always a plus

  10. #10
    Don't forget I have an older tutorial on doing this same thing with free software. It's actually the most popular photogrammetry tutorial on YouTube.

    https://youtu.be/D6eqW6yk50k
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  11. #11
    Super Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    986
    Very, very nice statue on the bench! Incredible!
    3D Generalist
    Threadripper 2920x, 128GB, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10

  12. #12
    I did have a little trouble with the statue on the top of his head and some of the back. I was rushing to take the pictures because there was a low wall around him that people were waiting to sit on. lol But it's a good example of how you can just whip out your phone at a moments notice, take the pictures, then process when you get home. I was actually just walking out of a dentist check up when I noticed him.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  13. #13

    just mentioning PhotoScan ($179)
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  14. #14
    thanks for the tut phil. Interesting to see reality capture in action

    @erikals, there some comparisons between rc and pscan, the general notion seems to be, that pscan is a tad better in the result but waaaay slower.
    (it took me less time to sculpt this:
    http://www.splotchdog.com/index.php?...=article&id=90
    than to calculate the model in pscan

    And this isn't even the higherst quality

    but yeah, considering the price of rc its a good option for people who do not scan everyday
    Last edited by tischbein3; 05-17-2018 at 09:40 AM.

  15. #15

    there are ways to speed up in PhotoScan
    like activating the Gpu
    https://blog.paperspace.com/gpu-acce...soft-photoscan
    and typing in commands
    http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=8193.0

    long time since i took it for a run though...
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •