Thread: "Growing Arms" technique needed

Worst 3D artist ever Geoff Vane's Avatar

"Growing Arms" technique needed

I have LW 11.6

I need to create arms that grow, like Inspector Gadget arms.

So, the arm section must be able to grow longer (and be animated if I need bends and such) but the hand must not be distorted and the fingers should be able to grasp something etc.

I'm not good at lightwave.
    - I can do some legacy morphing (the "new" method keeps destroying my source object when edited)
    - I can do some very basic bones stuff. (I might be able to open and close a hand, maybe)

I'm hoping to avoid "morph over bone chain" as this always goed wrong when I try it.

Has lightwave evolved maybe and is there a more simple method to do this?

I've got one week from 16 april 2018 to do this.
    All advice is much appreciated!
    Using LW since 1997 and still can't work with it...

Look into joint bones. You should be able to do what you want with those bones.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    www.ernestpchan.com
    www.zazzle.com/gopuggo

Okay!
    I found a spline method which might make it possible to animate along a path.
    However, I'm not sure if an arm with attached hand, can also grow along that path while keeping the hand undistorted.
    I actually want to start out with two hands, seamlessly connected by the wrist, and when the hands move away from each other, some primitive arm should grow between them.
    Should I create a morph sequence to put on such spline?
    Will bones in the hand stay in the hands?
    All things I don't know. I also am thinking it might be handy to have morphed hand stages in stead of using bones. I just don't know how to combine two morph actions: the arm growing and the hand shape.

I've seen some joint bones which can stretch over the spline path. I still don't fully grasp why I need those.