Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rough surface means longer render time?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kranj
    Posts
    98

    Rough surface means longer render time?

    Hi

    I am testing lw18 and I find that the higher the roughness values are on materials the longer it takes for AA to clean up, all other settings remain the same (samples, GI,...). For example, a concrete floor surface with low roughness values takes only half of rendering time that a hi roughness value takes. Is this how engine is supposed to work?

    Best regards
    Matej

  2. #2
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,560
    Yes, because it requires more samples. Se here...

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kCcIoXuZI9A&t=12m08s
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    GI Tutorial On cmiVFX
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  3. #3
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,592
    If you want to have steady render times disable adaptive anti-aliasing and use fixed Minimum Samples. Obviously noise will be still visible. But not a big problem in test renders and previewing.

    Disabling Adaptive AA, and using Brute Force GI, with just 1 Ray, is a way to have ultra responsive VPR previewer.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,203
    this sounds like a candidate for a toggle - fast vpr/your final render settings

  5. #5
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,592
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    this sounds like a candidate for a toggle - fast vpr/your final render settings
    You can do it right now, to some level:

    Render Globals, pick up top drop-list, open shelf,
    drop-list, Add to Shelf, give name "Full",
    reduce to minimum settings,
    drop-list, Add to Shelf. give name "Quick",
    Double click on preset in Shelf - settings changed.

    But it won't unfortunately store info about Adaptive AA in Camera settings (this can speed up hundred percent refinement in VPR)..

    Draft mode should be such preset user can edit. That's how I would do it. Instead of hardcoding what is limited. And accessible from short-cut.

    I am going to make video tutorial.
    Last edited by Sensei; 01-14-2018 at 03:16 AM.
    LightWave Plugins
    Global Materials for LightWave 2018!
    Custom plugin writing. Request a quote.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kranj
    Posts
    98
    Thank you for answers! I almost forgot to say thanks as I got stuck in RebelHill's tutorials They are really amazing. I am very surprised how you manage to explain this quite difficult subject so straight forward and simple. Great job!

    @RebelHill: Since I use LW primarily for architectural viz, would you be interested in making an arch viz tutorial? Focusing on scene setup and rendering?

    Best regards
    Matej

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •