Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 57

Thread: Fiber FX - Weird behavior

  1. #1
    Living over there... MAUROCOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    2,435

    Fiber FX - Weird behavior

    Hi, guys.

    I start creating a lipsync to this character and for some reazon the hair is acting really weird.
    There is no dynamic applied and the hair start moving.
    I already spent a lot of time on this and just I can not fix it.
    If you look carefully you will see that even the hair of the ears and nose is moving.
    Someone may have an idea why is it happening?

    BTW, the lipsync itself is not ready yet.

    https://vimeo.com/207216689

    Thanks in advance.
    Ground control to Major Tom

  2. #2

    hm, some Bias Map related bug maybe?
    if you're using Bias maps that is.

    hard to say, if no one solves it, share parts of the scene/hair.

    but FiberFX in general is buggy...

    seems to be related to the mesh deforming.

    try decreasing / increasing the SubD level in Layout, could help.
    Last edited by erikals; 03-06-2017 at 08:14 PM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  3. #3
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,130
    It's been a while but I've seen that sort of thing happen when FiberFX is applied or activated at a frame/position that's different from the frame/position where it was setup. I think this causes an internal offset with FiberFX.

    I also remember seeing stuff like that when artists have scaled and/or repositioned the character before applying the MDD, and I'd have tell them not to do that. Or when the MDD was baked from geometry that didn't start with the same exact t-pose that was used in the FiberFX setup.

    Something like that anyways. (Sorry, that was several years ago so I might have some details wrong.)

  4. #4
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,130
    Regarding Sub-D level, you shouldn't change that after you've set up FiberFX. The FiberFX settings will completely change if you change the geometry's density. Ideally, you should apply FiberFX up at the Sub-D level you intend to use at render time.

    Usually, I'll apply FiberFX to a separate 'scalp' or head object that has a fixed polygon level. This way, I can change the Sub-D level for the main character mesh during animation without worrying about this. Also, I like to leave FiberFX disabled when I'm animating...it's really not necessary to have it on for animation and it will probably drag down the system. Just turn it on during lighting and before rendering.

  5. #5
    Living over there... MAUROCOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    2,435
    Guys, it is very difficult to find the problem.

    Erik, I didnīt use BIAS map so it is not that.

    Greenlaw, I think I did everything right. I already did other characters the same way and I never had problems.

    It seams the problem is when I edit guides. After that the problem starts.

    I will try again, this time not editing guides. May I can create something decent that way.

    Thank you for you feecback, guys. Really appreciated!
    Ground control to Major Tom

  6. #6
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,130
    Just to be sure, are you using Edit Guides at frame zero or whichever frame you're using as the setup frame?

    I think when you enable edit guide, it's kinda like resetting your bones in the rig, so if anything is out of place from its original position, the binding will be off.

    Hope you get this sorted out...let us know when you do and what you did.

  7. #7
    Living over there... MAUROCOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    2,435
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenlaw View Post
    Just to be sure, are you using Edit Guides at frame zero or whichever frame you're using as the setup frame?

    I think when you enable edit guide, it's kinda like resetting your bones in the rig, so if anything is out of place from its original position, the binding will be off.

    Hope you get this sorted out...let us know when you do and what you did.
    Yes, I am using Editing Guides at frame zero, no doubt.

    I didnīt know yet but maybe the problem is that I have created the morph targets in a position in modeler and then I changed the object position and it is generating those errors.

    I will try what I said before and letīs see what happen...
    Ground control to Major Tom

  8. #8
    Really is a problem with some FFx parameters like Splay, Stray...Use Style and check deactivating parameters.
    You can see it in shaded mode before render in a preview animation.

  9. #9
    Living over there... MAUROCOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    2,435
    Quote Originally Posted by dmind View Post
    Really is a problem with some FFx parameters like Splay, Stray...Use Style and check deactivating parameters.
    You can see it in shaded mode before render in a preview animation.
    It is not this. I tried.
    Ground control to Major Tom

  10. #10
    Living over there... MAUROCOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    2,435
    I think I tried everything I could. Failed! It is so frustrating...
    Ground control to Major Tom

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    near a beach
    Posts
    35
    Subdivision order? Maybe a silly question, sorry if it is.

  12. #12

    share parts of the scene, easier to help.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  13. #13
    creacon
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,299
    Did you bake your deformations to an mdd?
    If not, try that, apply the mdd and see what happens.

    nice work btw.

    creacon

  14. #14
    Living over there... MAUROCOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    2,435
    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by CGI_Artist View Post
    Subdivision order? Maybe a silly question, sorry if it is.
    It would be great if that was the problem, but it isnīt...

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by creacon View Post
    Did you bake your deformations to an mdd?
    If not, try that, apply the mdd and see what happens.

    nice work btw.

    creacon
    I will try it, thanks.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    share parts of the scene, easier to help.
    There it is.

    Let me know if you get the problem, please.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Ground control to Major Tom

  15. #15

    hm, extract operation failed, any chance of a .zip ?
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •