Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: How many AA passes are the kids using these days?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Socal
    Posts
    388

    How many AA passes are the kids using these days?

    In the old days we actually did whole shows with 5 passes. Star Trek got 28 on one particularly noisy shot and I thought that was exotic at the time.
    What are people using these days?

  2. #2
    between 15 and 30 usually - no more than 30 - it really jacks up the render times - but really does clean up nicely in case by case.
    [url]https://www.artstation.com/artwork/kn21A[/u-- rl]
    fusion https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion
    resolve https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...avinciresolve/

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Ritchie View Post
    In the old days we actually did whole shows with 5 passes. Star Trek got 28 on one particularly noisy shot and I thought that was exotic at the time.
    What are people using these days?
    Also, depends on how much motion blur/dof you have going on. For low or no motion /blur dof you can get away with min 3 max 16 with gi MC samples at 8, Adaptive at .01, low discrepancy sampling. Depending on your lights and ref / refrac blur you may also want to up your light and shading samples if needed. If you have high dof/ motion blur I have gone up to 128 camera samples or more, but then take down the gi samples to 1 and shading and light to 1 as well. Its really a game of "fight the noise" where ever it ends up being whether it is in shading, lights, gi, or dof/motion blur.

  4. #4
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,333
    I'm liking the look of the Gaussian recon filter for animation lately, min 1, max 16, no mb (done in AE using RSMB), dof or GI.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    102
    1-8 samples, 0.01 threshold, box sharp classic - Doing a 3 min movie of a 90 km Culture GSV, going from outside to inside environment; going to take 3 months. Only visible difference I detected on higher settings were on the windows - got over 9 million of them placed, so I'd be rendering for years if I were to make it 100% 'pretty'...
    - Ignorance is bliss...

  6. #6
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,130
    I agree with the others--it really depends on the scene, i.e., type of detail, contrast, etc. Motion blur factors in too, but personally I haven't used 'in-camera' motion blur since 2005, preferring post-blurring with motion vector data, in studio production or personal work. Just don't have the time or patience for 'real' motion blur.

    My typical settings are Adaptive Sampling On, 10-12 Samples and up from there but very rarely going over 18-20. I like to use multi-sample lights like Dome and DP Infinite, so I usually have my Light Samples between 6 - 10, possibly higher but it depends on how much noise I see in the shadows.

    I've worked with artists who have varying ideas about what's optimal so I suggest experimenting and figuring out what works best for you.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenlaw View Post
    but personally I haven't used 'in-camera' motion blur since 2005,
    Did you use another app for instancing or something, or not use instances at all?

  8. #8
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,130
    Lightwave Instancing can output motion vectors, as can FiberFX.

    In the distant past, like back when we used HD Instance and Sasquatch, we often had to cheat the motion vector data by using proxy geometry or in the case of Sasquatch we used a custom Fusion tool to expand the vector data to cover the region where the 'hair' existed. This wasn't not especially accurate but visually it worked most of the time. In really difficult situations, we might render the Sasquatch pass with 'in-camera' motion blur but that was pretty rare.

    TBH, I'm really glad I don't have to do any of the above anymore. It's so much easier to just render an exr with the proper motion vector data for composting.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenlaw View Post
    Instancing can output motion vectors, as can FiberFX.
    LOL... not since 2005.

  10. #10
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,130
    No, not since then.

    I think I started using FiberFX motion vectors in Fusion in 2012 or 2013. Wait I have a blog entry about that:

    http://littlegreendog.com/2013/03/07...akes-her-move/

    Back when we did Devil May Cry (2011 or 2012 I think?), I used the vector expansion trick for FiberFX described above, and in some cases where I felt I could get away with it I just threw RSMB over the fiber pass. This was actually the first job where we used FiberFX; before that we always used Sasquatch.

  11. #11
    Its lame to change your comment and make my response look not relevant. Could have easily just posted another response, but at least now I know what kind of person I am talking to...

  12. #12
    Super Member spherical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Juan Island
    Posts
    4,686
    OK.... I'm outtahere.... This is turning, again, as ugly as other threads previously have. Yeesh.
    Blown Glass · Carbon Fiber + Imagination

    Spherical Magic | We Build Cool Stuff!

    "When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade, without further introduction." - Mark Twain

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by spherical View Post
    OK.... I'm outtahere.... This is turning, again, as ugly as other threads previously have. Yeesh.
    I mean, you do see what I was talking about right? I thought I was pretty kind about it.
    I replied to a comment, then the comment I replied to was changed to be something other than what I replied to. Its not that big a deal, but it is kinda lame... do you not agree? Do you think that is proper forum etiquette?

  14. #14
    Always include the comment you reply to in your own post (I didn't do that now ) avoids that kind of problem even though you may get complains from moderators now and then if you include a comment from the previous post.

    back on topic: I have to use around 30 or more but I am using noisy dome lights and spherical lights all the time.
    LightWave 2015.3 - Fantasy web comic: http://rustandmagic.se https://www.facebook.com/rustandmagic57/
    "I may not change the world but I'm gonna leave a scar" (Charlie Starr - Blackberry Smoke)

  15. #15
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,130
    Quote Originally Posted by Prince Charming View Post
    Its lame to change your comment and make my response look not relevant. Could have easily just posted another response, but at least now I know what kind of person I am talking to...
    My apologies, but I think I misunderstood your post. I thought you were asking how we handled motion blur for instances, or any image filter based renders that did not support motion vectors back in 2005. I'll be happy to clarify further but now I'm not exactly sure what you're asking.

    It's possible, even likely, that I changed my post--I frequently do that to correct typos or improve clarity, but not to embarrass another user.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •