Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Where is this TAB?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    110

    Where is this TAB?

    Where is the the TAB (make)?

    PS: I am new user.
    PS: my Lightwave is LightWave 2015.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Snip20151029_3.png 
Views:	70 
Size:	830.1 KB 
ID:	130613   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Snip20151029_4.png 
Views:	47 
Size:	26.5 KB 
ID:	130614  

  2. #2
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,108
    In LW2015 my make button says "Drop Tool" instead. If you can't find it you can add it with the "Edit Menu Layout" command.

  3. #3
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    ?? Isn't MAKE usually ENTER? TAB is "toggle Subd".

    FWIW, it appears the screen shot is using SPLINE DRAW, and what do you know, either TAB or ENTER works to exit the tool, leaving a Curve behind.

    The light grey "ret" on the MAKE button (pic#2) means "RETURN", the archaic term for "ENTER".

    Since LWM menus are user-definable, it may be that somehow yours got left off your personal interface.
    Last edited by jeric_synergy; 10-28-2015 at 11:01 PM.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by lertola2 View Post
    In LW2015 my make button says "Drop Tool" instead. If you can't find it you can add it with the "Edit Menu Layout" command.
    Thank you, lertola2.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by Leo Chen View Post
    Thank you, lertola2.
    Sorry, I mean "buttom"!

    Thank you, jeric_synergy.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    110
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0mjoXCVT0s

    In the above video, how the shape chages from 6:02 to 6:03?

  7. #7
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    That's when he toggles subdivision surfaces on.

    http://lightwiki.com/wiki/Fundamenta...patch_Modeling

    While the SET SUBPATCH command is default mapped to the TAB key, there is a much better subpatch function to use, with the horrible name of:

    G-TOGGLE SUBPATCH

    I highly recommend you map the TAB key to "G-TOGGLE SUBPATCH". The difference is, SET SUBPATCH works with Selections, and G-TOGGLE SUBPATCH toggles everything, Selected or not. When working with Subpatches, this is almost always how one would prefer to work.
    Last edited by jeric_synergy; 11-02-2015 at 12:45 AM.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    110
    Thank you,jeric_synergy.

    Yes, that is the "TAB"which the video is talking about.

    The problem is how come that producer of the tutorial video does not need to use "TRIPLE command" before using "TAB" command?

  9. #9
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,108
    Quote Originally Posted by Leo Chen View Post
    Thank you,jeric_synergy.

    Yes, that is the "TAB"which the video is talking about.

    The problem is how come that producer of the tutorial video does not need to use "TRIPLE command" before using "TAB" command?

    He is using the Catmull-Clark subpatch which works with multi sided polygons.

  10. #10
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    To be precise: you can use regular subd's with 3 & 4 sided polygons.*

    Catmull-Clark subpatches work with 3, 4, and n-gons, but apparently have some other issues (UV related??) that makes them slightly less popular.


    * "tris" and "quads".
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by lertola2 View Post
    He is using the Catmull-Clark subpatch which works with multi sided polygons.
    Thank you, lertola2.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by jeric_synergy View Post
    To be precise: you can use regular subd's with 3 & 4 sided polygons.*

    Catmull-Clark subpatches work with 3, 4, and n-gons, but apparently have some other issues (UV related??) that makes them slightly less popular.


    * "tris" and "quads".
    Thank you,jeric_synergy.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •