Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: cloth help please

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    666

    cloth help please

    can anyone tell me how to smooth out these crinkly areas? i've included my settings for the cloth object.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	draped-cloth.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	167.2 KB 
ID:	128237Click image for larger version. 

Name:	crinkle.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	64.9 KB 
ID:	128238Click image for larger version. 

Name:	settings.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	127.9 KB 
ID:	128239

  2. #2
    do you have smoothing on for the surface? and last for deformation.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    666
    yep

  4. #4

    freeze it and bring it into Modeler
    then Shift+D > Metaform
    then smoothing... does it help ?
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    666
    that pretty much worked, thanks

    well, not really.

    it smoothed it out a little, but still lots of crinkle.
    Last edited by pdrake; 05-14-2015 at 02:23 PM.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    France
    Posts
    496
    It's better to divide into "Modeler" until after the deformation.

    Do the "Faceted", then increases the level of "SubPatch" and relaunch the simulation.

    Here the angles of deformation are too extreme to make economy of polygons. However you can locate and "Faceted" on those parts which are well deformed. You connected all by retopology to avoid the "N-gons".

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    France
    Posts
    496
    You can also invest in "LW Brush". With you'll create your deformation directly in "Modeler" :

    https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/p...ntry/LW-brush/

  8. #8
    If the look you are going for is that of an Austrian curtain, you'd have all kind of odd wrinkles show up anyway. At least where the lift lines are.

  9. #9
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,273
    You need to subdivide your curtain in Modeler for the cloth to work well, and turn on Subpatches for it. Then in Layout set Subdivision to last in the Properties panel>Geometry tab. The subpatch will then smooth AFTER the curtain has been crinkled by the dynamics, resulting in a nice smooth rippled effect.
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    666
    lightwave brush looks awesome, thanks, i'll pick that up. in the mean time i think i solved my problem using some of the other elements that will need to be in the final image.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	with-cables-2.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	1.49 MB 
ID:	128330

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •