Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Import after in Live mode?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    13

    Import after in Live mode?

    How does everyone import new video files if they are already in the live environment? Typically when we use these, we get a video dump initially, but then need to import more videos after they are produced and we are already in LIVE mode.

    What does everyone do in that scenario...we can't be the only one in that situation.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    80
    Hello,

    in such a case we convert the additional content to a format that could be easily handled by the tricaster without importing/trancoding and then copy this over network or USB drive onto the tricaster. (during the live session).


    To make such a process more easy it would be really cool if Newtek would supply the "Import Tool" as standalone application to be executed on a standalone computer.

    Best regards,
    Walter
    TC8000 / TW850
    Cables: Belden 1694/Canara Connectors
    Cams: Sony PWM-EX3, Sony HDR-CX430/BMD HDMI2SDI

  3. #3
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    Setting aside file format preferences, an alternative to copying over the network is to look into one of the (third party) high speed, large volume shared storage solutions. A number of members of the NewTek Developer network offer excellent products.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Labmaster View Post
    Hello,

    in such a case we convert the additional content to a format that could be easily handled by the tricaster without importing/trancoding and then copy this over network or USB drive onto the tricaster. (during the live session).


    To make such a process more easy it would be really cool if Newtek would supply the "Import Tool" as standalone application to be executed on a standalone computer.

    Best regards,
    Walter
    Thanks Walter. Just out of curiousity, what exact format and specs do you convert it to?

    Setting aside file format preferences, an alternative to copying over the network is to look into one of the (third party) high speed, large volume shared storage solutions. A number of members of the NewTek Developer network offer excellent products.
    Thanks SBowie, can you point me in the direction of one of those products, please.

    Thanks all-

  5. #5
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    Quote Originally Posted by emg2919 View Post
    Thanks SBowie, can you point me in the direction of one of those products, please.
    Sure - here's a link:

    http://www.newtek.com/solutions/newt...ry?category=10

    I often think that the parent page with all of this goodness on it could be a little more prominent on our site, so for convenience, here's the top level link too:

    http://www.newtek.com/solutions/newt...r-network.html
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by emg2919 View Post
    Thanks Walter. Just out of curiousity, what exact format and specs do you convert it to?
    ....
    usually it's SpeedHQ (Newtek Codec Pack).

    best regards,
    Walter
    TC8000 / TW850
    Cables: Belden 1694/Canara Connectors
    Cams: Sony PWM-EX3, Sony HDR-CX430/BMD HDMI2SDI

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •