Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: i dream of nodes - well- nightmare, really

  1. #1
    Registered User mijaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60

    i dream of nodes - well- nightmare, really

    I want the little box to raytrace onto the big box no matter where either one is- I want to be able to TILE the raytraced little boxes side to side, up and down- kind of a poor man's "vroom".
    I have watched tutorials, I have raided other people's node setups, I have sampled, switched and altered all of the above.
    I'm just not getting it.
    It's like a thousand-sided Rubik's cube with a thousand tiles per side. I now dream if incorrect node setup. Not kidding. I LITERALLY have dreams of making the wrong node setup over and over and over.
    If I do not get help I will lose my mind.
    Here is a screenshot and a zip. Please fix or tell me how and I will carve a TIKI PENDANT for you!!!!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	node screenshot.jpg 
Views:	297 
Size:	205.5 KB 
ID:	122270
    projection project.zip
    Last edited by mijaba; 06-11-2014 at 01:22 PM. Reason: brevity

  2. #2
    Man of many cells. shrox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hendersonville, NC
    Posts
    6,962
    I share your pain.
    shrox www.shrox.com
    -----------------------
    Heavy Metal Landing


    -----------------------
    I build the best spaceships, the biggest spaceships, they're great, you'll love them.

  3. #3
    Registered User mijaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60
    Your sympathy is appreciated but the nightmare continues

  4. #4
    Registered User mijaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60
    Did I mention I will hand carve a 100% original and personalized tiki pendant for the person who solves this problem first?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	10429259_10203296722595428_3273240668110204268_n.jpg 
Views:	235 
Size:	53.2 KB 
ID:	122282
    TIKI COMPELLS YOU!!!!!
    There is a small grove of palm trees out front of my work that get's preened regularly and I have the stems from palm fronds which make EXCELLENT wood for carving.

  5. #5
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    #awayFromLW

    ??? From your description, I can't even figure out what you're trying to do.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  6. #6
    Registered User mijaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60
    I'm trying to raytrace virtual rooms for a building using the raytrace node. An example can be seen in the following thread BUT Id like to be able to attach the ray to a null so I can use multiple rooms. That way I can just select which "room setup" I want to use (randomly, if needed) and to top it all of, I'd like to tile them (infinitely) so I can just *fill* a building automatically. In order to do that I have to be able to relocate the rooms to different places so they won't interfere with each other. It doesn't have to be perfect, just flexible.

    http://forums.newtek.com/showthread....-Nodes-UV-holo

  7. #7
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    People have used projection images of rooms on buildings, and other people have used nodes to randomly select amongst the possible image (streams). So, the tech is there, but it's no walk in the park.

    Good luck.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  8. #8
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,875
    Why on Earth are you using Dot node there?! UV pos to RayTrace node position?! That could not ever work..

    What you really need is simply Environment Baking Camera from TrueArt's Modeling Pack
    http://modelingpack.trueart.eu

    It's sending ray in the all directions...

    Look at video tutorial:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iq5yRATeFms

    Two clicks, 1st make Environment Baking Camera, 2nd press F9, and you can attach it as texture..
    Last edited by Sensei; 06-12-2014 at 03:31 AM.

  9. #9
    Registered User mijaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60
    No use asking why I put this node where that node should have been. The answer is quite simple. I'm a nodetard. A nodiot. An ignoderamus.
    Thank you Sensei for your direction. (bows in earnest) When I get it working I'm going to owe you a tiki pendant.
    :::EDIT:::
    It's not going to work. That environment has to be tiled in such a way as to make it appear that they are a multiple of separate rooms vertically and horizontally, which leaves me with my original problem. I appreciate the thought, but if I tile the image that produces as a texture onto a 2D plane it's going to look like an unwrapped room flattened out.
    It would work GREAT for designing the room itself, but not for projecting the room, in a tileable fashion, onto (or into) other geometry.
    What I'm trying to do is *based* on this idea but with much more flexibility
    Thank you again, Sensei
    http://forums.newtek.com/showthread....-Nodes-UV-holo
    Last edited by mijaba; 06-12-2014 at 06:47 AM.

  10. #10
    Super Member XswampyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kernow
    Posts
    2,057
    Here you go.

    A couple of problems in your scene....

    You UV map for the BIG box was set up wrong. Each poly has to fill the UV map space. ie they all overlap each other.

    Your source box (the small one) was in the wrong position. It has to have it's front face set to 0,0,0.

    Some other things I can't remember.

    Edit : Sorry wrong file! Try this :- Projector_Working_XSX.zip
    Last edited by XswampyX; 06-12-2014 at 02:38 PM.

  11. #11
    incurable dumbass Medi8or's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    803
    Just messing a bit with it...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	projection.jpg 
Views:	286 
Size:	203.9 KB 
ID:	122309projection M8.zip
    -

    My dongle is small, hard, and purple.

  12. #12
    Registered User mijaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60
    Medi8or-- if you can move the small box around without effecting the large one then you've just earned a 100% custom tiki

  13. #13
    Registered User mijaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60
    I would try it myself, but in a fit of resignation I declared a moratorium on the project for a week. It was really effecting my dreams.
    Do you know what it's like to DREAM about getting the wrong node solutions over and over and over again? It's worse than actually doing it in real life-- which I was also doing-- so-- combine the real and imagined disappointment and you've got a good idea why I can't open that file for a week.

  14. #14
    incurable dumbass Medi8or's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    803
    As it is now, you can move both boxes around, but you can't rotate them.

    In this scene I moved the objects a bit, so the nodes get a bit simpler:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	projection2.jpg 
Views:	261 
Size:	338.2 KB 
ID:	122318
    As you see in the image, tiles are done with the gradients. Red for width, green for height, and blue for depth. There are as many keys in the gradients as there are tiles, and distance between them are same as tile size..
    The other nodes checks distance/direction from camera to big box, and sends a ray from same distance/direction towards little box..

    Scene:
    projection M8 – 02.zip
    Last edited by Medi8or; 06-13-2014 at 06:40 AM.
    -

    My dongle is small, hard, and purple.

  15. #15
    Registered User mijaba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60
    Is there any way to apply this without gradients? The gradients work well but they are tailored to the size of the big box. I'm trying to figure out how to compensate for any size room projected onto any size building- (spot size + ray length * scaling / ?) like a procedural fill that can be attached to a UV or other coordinate system.
    That way I can basically atlas map every building and select whatever room I want to fill it with.
    It's a tall mountain I suppose and I DO owe you a TIKI for your efforts-- so let me know what you want. I can carve just about anything.

    EDIT:
    I replaced the "input" node with "spot info" since I only have 11.5 and the "input" doesn't seem to have an interface--- it worked
    Last edited by mijaba; 06-14-2014 at 12:41 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •