Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 4 cubes, 3 hinges, 2 endomorphs and 1 problem

4 cubes, 3 hinges, 2 endomorphs and 1 problem

The problem is the boxes are changing size as they move, I don't want this to happen. Is this do-able with endomorphs or should I be trying IK?

Lightwave 10
    Attached Files Attached Files
    pixinc

You can't do this with endomorphs because they're linear. Which means that all the points in your object are moving in a straight line from the base shape to the morphed shape which is why they are changing scale. So your rotations that you used in creating the morph are turning into point translations.

Thanks for that, do I need to do this as simple forward Kinematics. I t may look simple but it has me puzzled.
    pixinc

I wouldn't do this with morphs. It's better to rig it.

Meaning bones, with IK? I am not experienced at rigging and my knowledge on how you would put bones in a solid cube is zero. Thanks for the advice anyway
    pixinc

I dunno what you are trying to do exactly, but simple mechanical objects all you usually need is good pivot point placement and correct parenting.

Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    I think it's a common misconception that IK has to do with Bones exclusively: not true. ANY item, including cameras and lights, can use IK.

Especially for pistons, IK can be used to build mechanical rigs. An entire complicated robot can be rigged using IK and zero Bones.

If you're a beginner, I HIGHLY recommend you avail yourself of Rebel Hill's rigging tutorials on YouTube, on his RHLW channel. Absolutely invaluable, and starting at the VERY basics, which it seems you need to get a handle on. I've used LW >10 years and it was good to have some very fundamental concepts re-visited.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.