Thread: Prometheus first bugfix..The Gear tool for layout script attached.

Prometheus first bugfix..The Gear tool for layout script attached.

Hi guys, thought I made this special thread for it, in my something feels wrong with lw 11.6 thread, I explained about a bug which has been in lighwave earlier than lw 11.6

It happens when you create an emitter ..then add a gear with the layout gear tool, the gear isnīt created, so I messed with the gear script and found what I believe to be a faulty line.

so hereīs the exerpt from my post in that thread...
    "Guys, I am not a coder, I have never compiled or created an L-script, wasnīt sure if I could text edit the script and save it properly...anyway, I have mad a bugfix.

The bug(fix) of the gear tool not being created in layout if you add an emitter is done by me

I simply opened up the lscript for the cube in layout and the gear tool in layout and compared the text lines, the gear tool had this line...
    newObject = Mesh();

Where the cube tool has this line...
    newObject = Scene().firstSelect();

So I simply replaced the geartool line with that of the cube tool line for the "newObject"
    Saved it in txt format and renamed the tool as create gear3.

The gear tool now works in layout even if you create an emitter first.

if you create an emitter in a scene...then try to create a gear with layout modeler tools, it wonīt work, this should fix it.

heres my bugfix...no waiting for the next lightwave build

And I seem to have advanced in brain capacity and reached another level from doing the advanced renaming of the box and ball tool to cube and sphere tool so they are consistent with the layout cube and sphere tool, to now have fixed this
    Attached Files Attached Files

TrueArt Support
    Mesh generators need object to work with.
    Therefore you need to make null item for them, prior running MeshDataEdit or CmdSeq plugin class.
    Scene().firstSelect()