Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How do I GET RID of the GRAIN and Noise?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7

    How do I GET RID of the GRAIN and Noise?

    I'm new be nice please.
    How do I get rid of the grain/noise in renders?
    Is is lighting or my texture or my render settings?
    What is the most likely reason for this?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grain.jpg 
Views:	170 
Size:	119.2 KB 
ID:	121337  

  2. #2
    That looks fun.

    In layout, press shift-c; press p - if the camera panel is open, this will close it... press p again if so.
    See Minimum samples? Leave it at 1.
    Maximum samples... change it to ... oh, 128.
    Change the threshold to 0.3 to 0.05; the former will be faster, the latter cleaner.

    If none of this is available, tick on "Adaptive Sampling".
    Robert Wilson, MA Deaf Ed.
    Indiana Deaf School
    This e-mail may contain information protected under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    Thank YOU Robert!
    That looks so much better. See Image..

    I am still getting a little more grain than I want. Any other suggestions?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	get rid of noise and grain 2.jpg 
Views:	134 
Size:	77.5 KB 
ID:	121355  

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Rawfires79 View Post
    Thank YOU Robert!
    That looks so much better. See Image..

    I am still getting a little more grain than I want. Any other suggestions?
    Also check under the Effects panel->Processing and set the Dither Intensity to off.

    -M
    I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates - "I Drank What??"

  5. #5
    Render Globals Pannel, Shading samples will reduce noise caused by shading (blured reflections for example) Light samples will reduce noise caused by soft shadow lights (area, dome etc)

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by MSherak View Post
    Also check under the Effects panel->Processing and set the Dither Intensity to off.

    -M
    M
    I checked and it was already off..Thanks!

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Danner View Post
    Render Globals Pannel, Shading samples will reduce noise caused by shading (blured reflections for example) Light samples will reduce noise caused by soft shadow lights (area, dome etc)
    How far do I need to push those numbers? I have Shading and Light at 200 right now and is helps some. Do I need to go higher or is my problem somewhere else?

  8. #8
    Elsewhere...
    Go back to that 128... Up it to ... gosh, give it a bigger number until you are happy or it is tooooo slow.
    Or...

    change the .3 to .05 to .01 to .001. The last number is an INSANE setting and may take days to render if the above number is more than 24.

    It's about the numbers.

    I would also go back and change those shading numbers to 48 and 48. The sampling numbers will take care of most of it.

    Look for rendering tutorials by ian or dave gerrard; both are stellar artists that have this stuff down pat. I am but a parrot, repeating what they've sagely shared.
    Robert Wilson, MA Deaf Ed.
    Indiana Deaf School
    This e-mail may contain information protected under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.

  9. #9
    I looked at your image.
    I gave you faster settings than quality.

    Try these numbers:
    Min Samples: 4
    Max samples: 128
    Reconstruction filter: Mitchell
    Sampling pattern: Classic
    Threshold: .01 to .001, with the latter being a lot longer to render.
    See if you like oversample or not: .3 to 1

    Try those numbers. Threshold and Max sample are your variables, in general, when rendering. The Min samples can be mucked around with but 1 makes for the quickest render. In this case, I said 4 because I figure you want all the stair steps gone and this will give the max sample a bit less to chew on, as it were.
    Robert Wilson, MA Deaf Ed.
    Indiana Deaf School
    This e-mail may contain information protected under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    Thank You THank YOU! check before and after.
    I will also check out some of the tuts you suggested.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thank You THank YOU! check before and after.
    I will also check out some of the tuts you suggested.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thank You THank YOU! check before and after.
    I will also check out some of the tuts you suggested.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	red before.jpg 
Views:	119 
Size:	296.8 KB 
ID:	121381   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	red after.jpg 
Views:	122 
Size:	231.1 KB 
ID:	121382  

  11. #11
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,763
    see here...

    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    Thanks RebelHill that was a great video. I understand what settings are for and why they do what they do.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •