Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Modeling Question on a Letter

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    468

    Modeling Question on a Letter

    I am not a professional animator but have been learning lightwave for a business I started. I used the text layer tool in modeler and created a T. There is a gap in the top right corner. I have tried numerous things and each time I think I fix it when I do a render in layout it shows up as a small line. I was going to leave it alone but really want to know what I am doing wrong.

    I have tried merging points together but it still shows. I tried making a polygon by selecting points and hitting P. Each time I do something I think I get it just right and fixed but in Layout I can see a line like it is not fixed. Can someone point out what I am doing wrong. I thought merge points would fix it but it is not working.Attachment 120724Attachment 120725

  2. #2
    That happened when you beveled the front/side faces.
    Use something else for such things, like chamfer, smooth shift, multishift, rounder - these will do a group of polys as one.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    468
    Quote Originally Posted by UnCommonGrafx View Post
    That happened when you beveled the front/side faces.
    Use something else for such things, like chamfer, smooth shift, multishift, rounder - these will do a group of polys as one.
    When I created the Letter T, I did not make it myself. I just used the create Text Layers tool and it did all the work. I wish I could say I knew how to make it myself but I am not that good. Is there a way to fix what I have? Thanks

  4. #4
    Male Modeler ccclarke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    110
    Two quick things to check come to mind:

    1. In wireframe display mode, zoom in to the area where the line is appearing. If the points at the end(s) are seperated, select them and press CNTRL W to weld them together.
    2. With the "T" layer selected, press the W key to bring up the Statistics panel. Ensure you don't have any one or two-point polys. If so, select the + key adjacent to them to highlight them, and press the delete key.

    CC

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    468
    Attachment 120736
    Quote Originally Posted by ccclarke View Post
    Two quick things to check come to mind:

    1. In wireframe display mode, zoom in to the area where the line is appearing. If the points at the end(s) are seperated, select them and press CNTRL W to weld them together.
    2. With the "T" layer selected, press the W key to bring up the Statistics panel. Ensure you don't have any one or two-point polys. If so, select the + key adjacent to them to highlight them, and press the delete key.

    CC

    I can see that some of the points are not aligned and I am doing my best to align them but it still did not work with the weld. I am attaching a screen shot of the statistics panel. What I want to know is if anyone else is in modeler and they go to

    1. text layers
    2. Put a Capital T and choose arial rounded mt bold 400

    Do they have the same problem too? Thanks

    Attachment 120737

  6. #6
    da what? daforum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    1,670
    You probably have some 2 point polygons on your model T.

    Select "Polygons" then hit W key to see statistics ( like you've done with Points )
    If you have any 2 point polygons select the "+" next to them and delete the 2 point polygons.

    Hope it helps

    EDIT: I see ccclarke has already suggested this!!
    Last edited by daforum; 03-13-2014 at 12:42 PM.
    Montage Reel, Portfolio, PIN_01, Prime......«« go on, click on a link!

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    468
    Quote Originally Posted by daforum View Post
    You probably have some 2 point polygons on your model T.

    Select "Polygons" then hit W key to see statistics ( like you've done with Points )
    If you have any 2 point polygons select the "+" next to them and delete the 2 point polygons.

    Hope it helps

    EDIT: I see Airwaves has already suggested this!!

    Yippeeee!
    That did the trick. I guess I did not have polygons selected. Thank you everyone for your input. Problem solved.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •