Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: Can you set a Tricaster to do a double box or squeezeback?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    10

    Can you set a Tricaster to do a double box or squeezeback?

    Do Tricasters have the ability to do multi source functions like double boxes, or squeezebacks? If so how do you set something like that up? Our Tricaster is an 855.

  2. #2
    You can do a double box in a virtual input. There are presets that you can load or you can do it manually using the positioner controls with the A, B and Overlay channels.

    There isn't a way to perform a squeezeback. There is zooming control available in the virtual input that mimics it a bit, but it isn't the same thing and you need virtual set editor (VSE) to edit the zooming start/end locations.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    Well, you kinda sorta can - using one of the Expand transitions and a DSK, for example - you could probably 'Macro' that, and or use an M/E and key layer in similar fashion ... or, if it was static, the positioner.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #4
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,332
    No macro on TC855 but using ASC, you could design a squeeze box via a DSK or try the built in ones like Steve suggested.

    You could also get someone proficient in ASC and VSE to possibly design a custom transition and/or LiveSet to suit your needs.

    PS I know of one such person if you pursue that route
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  5. #5
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    Quote Originally Posted by joseburgos View Post
    ... or try the built in ones like Steve suggested.
    If memory serves, going back to vt, this is why there are keystroke shortcuts to move the tbar to halfway.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  6. #6
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,332
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    If memory serves, going back to vt, this is why there are keystroke shortcuts to move the tbar to halfway.
    Yup
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  7. #7
    Just to follow up on this, you can perform this effect using specially crafted Transwarp transition. It need to be a TriCaster with Transwarp effects support for this to work (TC410/460/860/8000, 40v2, 455/855).

    Download the attachment and setup the switcher as follows.

    Program: Full screen source
    Preview: M/E or Virtual input with the 'Helix Small Big' set

    In the main switcher transition, load either the Left or Right effect to match which box the full screen video should squeeze into. Then perform a transition to make it work.

    Helix DVE.zip

    You will need to use After Effects (or another similar tool) to create effects that works with other box effects.
    Last edited by kanep; 02-26-2014 at 02:32 PM.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  8. #8
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    Can you not just use the standard transitions (such as Expand L)?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  9. #9
    That would be close, but the effect that are attached will squeeze perfectly into the double box effect.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  10. #10
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    Aah, or course ... forgot we weren't just discussing the generic squeeze (that's what happens when you don't bother to reread the whole thread)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    80
    Hello,

    btw.
    how to create Transwarp Effects ourself ?
    In ASC i found nothing about doing this.
    We would need some special sort of effects like the "Alien Hand", any hint is highly welcome.

    Best regards,
    Walter
    TC8000 / TW850
    Cables: Belden 1694/Canara Connectors
    Cams: Sony PWM-EX3, Sony HDR-CX430/BMD HDMI2SDI

  12. #12
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    See sections 2.2 and 2.5 in the ASC (2.x) manual.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  13. #13
    Read those sections of the manual.

    To produce the animations you can use anything. After Effects, Lightwave, Nuke, Avid DS....

    The application for producing for the warp sequence animation MUST support 16-bit or 32-bit per pixel color for it to work. The other animations would be 8-bit per pixel color.
    Kane Peterson
    Key Accounts Sales Engineer
    NewTek, Inc.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    Read those sections of the manual.

    To produce the animations you can use anything. After Effects, Lightwave, Nuke, Avid DS....

    The application for producing for the warp sequence animation MUST support 16-bit or 32-bit per pixel color for it to work. The other animations would be 8-bit per pixel color.
    Very nice idea to use a uv texture to do such animations.
    Since when is this feature available or better since what version ?

    best regards,
    Walter
    TC8000 / TW850
    Cables: Belden 1694/Canara Connectors
    Cams: Sony PWM-EX3, Sony HDR-CX430/BMD HDMI2SDI

  15. #15
    Macro Titan JonRaidel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    214
    FYI: Ive been using the tricaster and ASC for DoubleBoxes and Squeezebacks. there is not a 100% perfect way using ASC to do a squeezeback. if you design properly you can get it CLOSE. but not perfect.
    Gear Used:
    TCXD 8000
    3Play 4800
    VizRT IP 2-Channel
    Panasonic HDX 900 Cameras
    NDI Connect Pro
    Graphic Outfitters ScoreHD
    Graphic Outfitters Scorebridge
    Livetext 3 w/ LT [Scoreboards 2]

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •