Page 22 of 22 FirstFirst ... 12202122
Results 316 to 323 of 323

Thread: Basic stuff Lightwave users should know, but are not-so-obvious

  1. #316
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    5,904
    Quote Originally Posted by ncr100 View Post
    That is awesome. Item selection by name.

    Predictive text for item selection would be rad. And I hope a similar feature for Tool selection which uses more than just the tool's name because some of the tool names in Lightwave are not intuitive to their behavior so maybe there could be some search-keywords associated with Layout (and Modeler) Tool plugins to support predictive tool discovery.
    The problem with that from a UX standpoint, is what it should do when the tool's name is specified? Activate it? For quite a few LW tools that's the only (and terminal) action in the workflow, so you don't want that until everything's selected and configured. For others, it only begins the operation, and requires further configuration/adjustment actions, and then a separate action to actually take effect/finalize. Oh, and there's no easy or clear indication by name which tools behave which way either.

    The reason stuff like this works in other systems is because their tools in such systems all have uniform action models, such that they can always be selected, then adjusted, then finalized. Since LW tools' activation conventions are all over the map, such a system won't work nearly as well in LW, at least without some major rework of (many) tools' behaviors.

    It'd be very nice to have, if the workflow discrepancy issue could also be addressed. Without addressing the workflow issues, it'd be an unpredictable mess.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.4 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.5),32GB RAM, NV 1080ti

  2. #317
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    480
    I've added this to list from memory, I did it ages ago, but it's a nice workflow to try and experiment.

    Just a quicky. I did a test, created one concert/arena seat.

    I used LWCAD vector clones to quickly create a point source for instancing.

    Inside of layout, create a null. Positioned the null and when created instances told the instance generator to use the null as a look at target. All the seats aligned to point towards the null centre, multiple nulls can be used, but you could create banks or groups of instances each with a different look at target.

    Have fun, no more painful placing and orientation for stadium or theatre seats using instances and a point source for generation.
    Last edited by Luc_Feri; 10-18-2017 at 04:48 AM.
    I'm always 100% right!!!

  3. #318
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    1,675
    Quote Originally Posted by Luc_Feri View Post
    I've added this to list from memory, I did it ages ago, but it's a nice workflow to try and experiment.

    Just a quicky. I did a test, created one concert/arena seat.

    I used LWCAD vector clones to quickly create a point source for instancing.

    Inside of layout, create a null. Positioned the null and when created instances told the instance generator to use the null as a look at target. All the seats aligned to point towards the null centre, multiple nulls can be used, but you could create banks or groups of instances each with a different look at target.

    Have fun, no more painful placing and orientation for stadium or theatre seats using instances and a point source for generation.
    Brilliant! Thanks.
    Salut!,
    Allabulle.

  4. #319
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    480
    Quote Originally Posted by allabulle View Post
    Brilliant! Thanks.
    Your very welcome.

    The seats will align with heading and rotation if using look at, and there is also axis aligned feature too.
    I'm always 100% right!!!

  5. #320
    Registered User ianr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Chiltern Riviera
    Posts
    1,195
    Nice > Slick > Luc . >Yah!

  6. #321
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    480
    Quote Originally Posted by ianr View Post
    Nice > Slick > Luc . >Yah!
    Cheers.
    I'm always 100% right!!!

  7. #322
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,598

    LWM: Renaming Layers: don't double click in the Layers Panel

    LWM: Renaming Layers

    If you have a bunch of layers selected, double clicking on the layer in the (incredibly lame, weak, and poorly thought-out ) Layers Panel will destroy your selection as it opens a dialog to rename the layers.

    Instead, use the LAYER SETTINGS function in the Layers tab to rename your layer. This preserves your possibly complex layer selection, saving time.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  8. #323
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    481
    Does this still works?

    https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/p...layer-renamer/

    Edit:Seems not
    Last edited by Asticles; 05-19-2018 at 03:16 AM.
    English is not my native language so please be patient.

    Salvador Ureņa
    http://urenasalvador.wixsite.com/portfolio

Page 22 of 22 FirstFirst ... 12202122

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •