Thread: Genoma

Genoma

i'm new to rigging i see there are a few tutorials of the genoma set up rig but can't seem to find any once you have the rig set up and best tips to animate ?

The process of animating isn't really specific to a rig type. Just pose your character into key poses, create in-between (or let the computer do it for you) and then adjust your timing.

IMHO Genoma rigs have more control objects than necessary so I would suggest to only use the ones you absolutely need in the beginning. It'll be easier to manage and quicker to work.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

Quote Originally Posted by nickdigital View Post
    IMHO Genoma rigs have more control objects than necessary so I would suggest to only use the ones you absolutely need in the beginning.
    Totally agreed. I think it would be helpful for many starting Lightwave artists if a "simple rig" preset were constructed and made available as part of the Lightwave install. Something that uses the fewest number of bones/controls as possible and giving the user some basic functionality. Plus I'm incredibly biased towards lightweight rigs.
    Professional-level 3d training: Ryan's Lightwave Learning
    Plugin Developer: RR Tools for Lightwave

I agree. I set up the cube tutorial rig and it seemed to work, but in Layout was a bit lost with all the controls. (Lot's of controls and many show up really small.) Tempted to just create a basic rig with skelgons and use IKB to animate it for non-mocap type manual animations. At least Larry's tutorials were really clear and the rigs created were clean and simple (have to hunt down that dvd I have somewhere.)