Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34

Thread: adjusting the Nevron rig to my mesh

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Posts
    936
    Quote Originally Posted by lino.grandi View Post
    Next week I'll be posting several videos!
    Lino, will you be posting those videos here in the forums or on your YT channel? Would really like to see those. We bought NM and have not really been able to use much of it as there are a few things we are apparently missing in the secret sauce!

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Posts
    936
    Quote Originally Posted by CaptainMarlowe View Post
    Have you checked, before adjusting the skeleton to the mesh, that "enable deformations" is unchecked ? Once you have finished, either you select all the bones and activate them, or you can use the "neuron activate bones" script to do this in one click.
    What portions of the skeleton CAN you adjust. Have is Locked and the other half doesn't seem to move anything. The boxes don't seem to adjust anything....

    Know I'm doing something wrong, as I'm not a rigger and have no idea what this setup is....but have seen videos of it working! just can't wait....lol.

  3. #18
    registered pixel pusher
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by tcoursey View Post
    What portions of the skeleton CAN you adjust. Have is Locked and the other half doesn't seem to move anything. The boxes don't seem to adjust anything....

    Know I'm doing something wrong, as I'm not a rigger and have no idea what this setup is....but have seen videos of it working! just can't wait....lol.
    I'm right there with you... tried everything to adjust the rig to fit my mesh and gotten nowhere. De-activating the bones, adjusting the circular rig controls, then re-activating the bones just destroys the mesh, so that's a no-go. ANYONE with a simple step-by-step of what is KNOWN to work would be fantastic at this point, until Lino gets us the HIGHLY anticipated tuts and updates (Did I mention HIGHLY ANTICIPATED?)

  4. #19
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,843
    OK, IF (that's a big if, since I'm unpacking my stuff after moving) I have time, I'll show you how I proceeded in my first tests, granted I'm no rigger nor animator, and a pure hobbyist. What I can show will thus be very basic.

  5. #20
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,843
    Here's a quick, rough video I made to show how I retarget. Hope it will help, though I can't guarantee that the workflow described is the good one.

    http://youtu.be/ltditH3S_wE

  6. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Posts
    936
    Quote Originally Posted by CaptainMarlowe View Post
    Here's a quick, rough video I made to show how I retarget. Hope it will help, though I can't guarantee that the workflow described is the good one.

    http://youtu.be/ltditH3S_wE
    Thanks for the demo video! It apears you have some similar issues that many others do. however you "were" able to get a retarget of the skeleton to work.

    I think one of the big things people (me included) didn't realize is that the retargeting ONLY works with the Nevron Skeleton. On that note, when I fit my skeleton to my character and then turn on DEFORM the character always jumps up about 3-4" above my skeleton...your's didn't. hmmm.

    Also, the siggraph demo's were way smoother, looks like they had their own perfected demo, not just any BVH file. Workflow is much different....a bit of snake oil....? Hopefully just a pre-release issue. It needs to get smoothed out.

    Thanks again!

  7. #22
    Super Member CaptainMarlowe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belfort, France
    Posts
    1,843
    Yep, I do have issues. The head is the biggest. Also, I used a CMU BVH and you noticed the T-pose was screwed from the beginning. I have tried with other bvh files, and some need manual retargeting since the bvh bones names are sometimes not standard (e.g. chest instead of spine, etc.). At this point, nevron motion really comes in handy as you reassign the correct source bone to the correct target bone without too much hassle.
    This said, yeah, it's only a pre-release. What we need now, is a polished version, with a correct manual and some explicit tutorials. For instance, how do you assign weight maps on the nevron skeleton ? I haven't found out, yet.

    Ho, and of course, a genoma rig usable with nevron-motion, just to be able to prepare the mesh in modeler (weight maps included) and then retarget anything on it.

    PS : I haven't tried with fbx retargeting yet. Perhaps it works smoother. For me, bvh retargeting is aboslutely necessary, as being on Mac, I will have to buy fastmocap and a kinect to create my own mocap, since kinect isn't supported for mac inside nevronmotion.

  8. #23
    registered pixel pusher
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    30
    So is the planned workflow intended to start with a new (to be supplied) genoma preset that creates a rig that matches the included "Nevron_Skeleton" rig so we can make the necessary adjustments in modeler as we do currently? Then use that scene as a basis for retargeting? We currently are using a Dual-Kinect iPi capture setup (as many users have also mentioned) and having the ability to drive the great nevron skeleton with our iPi created fbx/bvh files will be a very welcome addition to the pipeline (forgoing the Motionbuilder step altogether, unless we need to create looping anims of course...). Lino? Is that the plan?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thanks for the video CaptainMarlowe! Every little bit of info helps all of us right now!

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Posts
    936
    so why does the nevron rig start below 0 with it's feet? My models are all on 0. Of course I can move my character but is this a bug? Seems a bit wierd (but I'm not a rigger so maybe I'm missing something).

  10. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Posts
    936
    Quote Originally Posted by lino.grandi View Post
    Next week I'll be posting several videos!
    Is it next week yet

  11. #26
    TD/Animator lino.grandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    1,700
    Quote Originally Posted by tcoursey View Post
    Is it next week yet
    Yes! The video is ready, but we're preparing a new version of both NevronMotion and LightWave11.6 (the Nevron rig is now avalaible as a Genoma preset). Sorry for the delay!
    Lino Grandi
    3D Development, LightWave 3D Group/NewTek, Inc.

    https://www.lightwave3d.com/

    LightWave 3D Group YouTube channel:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/Official...?feature=watch

    My YouTube Channel:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/linograndi?feature=mhee

  12. #27
    Free Radical Orimar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    109
    Good news. Thanks, Lino.

  13. #28
    Cook and Bottle Washer
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    54
    I'm guessing that what is hinted at above is the same issue I'm having. I loaded up a scene with the provided Kinect skeleton, resized it to my mesh, assigned weightmaps to the bones, rested and activated them. Then, when I hit "Active" in the Studio, the bones took off without my mesh. Is there something I'm missing? Forgive me if it's too simple.

    Thanks,
    Roger

  14. #29
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Posts
    936
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambival View Post
    I'm guessing that what is hinted at above is the same issue I'm having. I loaded up a scene with the provided Kinect skeleton, resized it to my mesh, assigned weightmaps to the bones, rested and activated them. Then, when I hit "Active" in the Studio, the bones took off without my mesh. Is there something I'm missing? Forgive me if it's too simple.

    Thanks,
    Roger
    Yea the retargeting only works with the nevron rig currently. But there must be a trick to getting the nevron rig appropriatly adjusted to characters. I have gotten it to work (properly deform manually) but when I retarget there is some wonky stuff happening. Can't wait to see the vid's from Lino, step by step. Hopefully that will solve a lot of issues all over the forums. Can't wait for the URL!!!!!

  15. #30
    registered pixel pusher
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by lino.grandi View Post
    Yes! The video is ready, but we're preparing a new version of both NevronMotion and LightWave11.6 (the Nevron rig is now avalaible as a Genoma preset). Sorry for the delay!
    Thanks to you and your team for getting the new versions out so quickly Lino! We just got the iPi-to-Nevron skeleton pipeline working PERFECTLY! now we just need to be able to get the nevron skeleton adjusted to our models and we are golden! Can't wait to see the "come and get it" post!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •