Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How do I create bird feathers in Lightwave 11.5

  1. #1
    Newbie Member tonyhall007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    nottingham
    Posts
    85
    Blog Entries
    2

    How do I create bird feathers in Lightwave 11.5

    Hi everyone
    Does anyone know of any good tutorials on how to create bird feathers in Lightwave 11.5, or what might be the best approach.

  2. #2
    da what? daforum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    1,669
    I looked on YouTube and found these. They weren't done in LW 11.5 but they might be a good starting point:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9Y_i8dfQqE

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOJG9L5S27I

    Hope they help
    Montage Reel, Portfolio, PIN_01, Prime......«« go on, click on a link!

  3. #3
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,557
    also check this, more of brushing combing fiberfx on main body of a bird, by Khalid Muharraqi.
    He does great bird stuff, I think thou that the main feathers are modeled, or maybe he used fiberfx to create the main feathers but the end results in
    fiberfx in modeler has the output to polygons.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4AwtN1EK9E
    Final output...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Caoyp...endscreen&NR=1

    some other stuff...
    http://www.youtube.com/user/lightwavevideos/videos

  4. #4
    Newbie Member tonyhall007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    nottingham
    Posts
    85
    Blog Entries
    2
    Cheers guys, I'll give them a go.

  5. #5
    You may also want to consider the plugin Random Cloner to place the bird feathers.

    http://www.polas.net/plugins/cloner.php

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kurczak.jpg 
Views:	465 
Size:	60.3 KB 
ID:	114404

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wg_P_big.gif 
Views:	330 
Size:	17.4 KB 
ID:	114405
    Gary Chike

  6. #6
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,457
    Quote Originally Posted by chikega View Post
    You may also want to consider the plugin Random Cloner to place the bird feathers.

    http://www.polas.net/plugins/cloner.php

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kurczak.jpg 
Views:	465 
Size:	60.3 KB 
ID:	114404

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wg_P_big.gif 
Views:	330 
Size:	17.4 KB 
ID:	114405
    Nicely detailed cock, is it yours or Polas'?

    Sorry, couldn't resist.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.7 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  7. #7
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,125
    Years ago we made a rooster that acted like a monkey for a Banana Corn Flakes commercial. We modeled the feathers (simply polys with clip maps) and layed them down very carefully using Random Cloner. We found that if we created a morph target before laying down the feathers, we could control 'ruffling' animation in Morph Mixer. This was way, way back in LightWave 9.x days.

    Re: FiberFX, I think the instancing system was removed from FiberFX recently in favor of Instancer. I could be wrong though--check the docs to be sure. Of course, you might be able to use Instancer but, off the top of my head, I'm not sure how to make the feathers flow properly this way.

    If you have 11.5, you might also consider using the new Place Mesh tool in Modeler. I haven't used Place Mesh quite this way yet but this approach might be easier than using Random Cloner.

    G.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by chikega View Post
    You may also want to consider the plugin Random Cloner to place the bird feathers.

    http://www.polas.net/plugins/cloner.php

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kurczak.jpg 
Views:	465 
Size:	60.3 KB 
ID:	114404

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wg_P_big.gif 
Views:	330 
Size:	17.4 KB 
ID:	114405

    Hehe ... It's actually Radoslaw Nowakowski's cock, LOL :-)
    Gary Chike

  9. #9
    Defender of Mankind Emmanuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,079
    It would be nice if Place Mesh ha an option to change the density of the population, so I could populate each poly with more than one clone :/
    Bye,
    Emmanuel

    ----------------
    For Hire
    Portfolio
    Graveyard Dogs Indie game dev blog, visit and vote for the best RPG of all time !

  10. #10
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    14,557
    Quote Originally Posted by Emmanuel View Post
    It would be nice if Place Mesh ha an option to change the density of the population, so I could populate each poly with more than one clone :/
    maybe try that in layout with native instancing, then there´s a script to save/replace the instances with mesh, and you can also save out all as one object with fbx...so native instances not sure if it is a smooth workflow though.


    the some other ways might be to actually use just fiberfx in modeler and apply the "poly"feathers there....or use fiberfx in layout and use polygonize command to convert fiberfx to polygons....two very different ways.
    Depends on if you aim for poly feathers only or a mix or just fiberfx in layout?

    Michael

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •