Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Magic Dust

The Magic Dust

This is a project that I started working on in 2005. It is why I started learning LightWave again after about 10 years in 2005. It was a second choice project to a bigger more epic idea I had after leaving LA in 2004. It was supposed to be simpler and um.... faster.

Now... 8 years later....

Here is where I was by 2008.

This is the logo I made then.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MdustLogoBanner.jpg 
Views:	578 
Size:	125.3 KB 
ID:	112464

And here was a poster I made in 2008

Name:	MdustWebPosterV2.png 
Views:	496 
Size:	918.8 KB 
ID:	112465

Notice the prophetic tag line "Upside Down"

Name:	MdustWebPosterV1.png 
Views:	448 
Size:	916.4 KB 
ID:	112466

Very odd and uncanny to see the trailer for this in December 2012 here where I am:

Name:	movie_picture_upside-down.jpg 
Views:	996 
Size:	94.9 KB 
ID:	112467

And of course I had to see the movie.

There were so many similarities that I was almost sick.

My movie is not about being upside down exactly but is of course inspired by this:

Name:	relativity.jpg 
Views:	504 
Size:	2.40 MB 
ID:	112468

The brief on my story is that it did involve a boy and a girl - of course. And the boy needed to be with girl who is on another dimension. Of course. And this meant that he would have to control gravity - of course. To see girl. Of course. And in my story, this is where the Magic Dust comes in and so on. I am over-simplifying. But you get the idea.

The similarities are more uncanny but I don't want to spoil the movie that should be coming out soon if you have not already seen it.

I recommend it by the way. I thought it was clever. Of course.

Now that that is all out of the way.

The brief history is that I have been in rewrite after rewrite over the years. Learning 3D, testing, and building props and sets and so on and more testing and building and rewriting. Between normal living.