Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Shift Camera

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    151

    Shift Camera

    When I open an older scene (Lightwave 11.0.2) in version 11.5 which uses the shift camera, the final render of 11.5 does not match the render/shift cam generated by 11.0.2.
    Actually you probably won't notice the difference but when you overlay the two images in an image editor, you can see it clearly.
    This is really a problem when you need to match an old perspective. Does anyone else experience this behavior?
    Is there a way to correct this?
    LightWave 3D 2019 (Win64)

  2. #2
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    Maybe this is a bug? If you can submit content to NewTek and open a bug report that would be good.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  3. #3
    NewTek Developer jameswillmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    3,168
    Yeah, you'll need to post a scene. There was a bug in the way the shift camera handled Bank rotation that might have affected the output somewhat, but without the scene we can't tell.
    LightWave3D training, assets, news and discussion at www.liberty3d.com
    My opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions of any other entity, Liberty3D is not officially endorsed by NewTek.

  4. #4
    I have a scene that uses shift camera and OGL view doesn't match final render - top part of the render is cutting off.
    - Architectural Visualizations -


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    151
    Ok, I have reported it as a possible bug. Thanks.
    LightWave 3D 2019 (Win64)

  6. #6
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,099
    I put in a bug report on this a while ago also:

    https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.a...hkraqmj5sus84a

  7. #7
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    15
    I have the same problem (Win 7). Opening scenes, created with LW 11.2 , seem to be identical in the camera view window of LW 11.5, but the rendered result is totally different: On the top, there is a little bit more to bee seen, but at the bottom, there is cut off a much greater part (about 3 times). Compared in photoshop, the new LW11.5-image is stretched vertically and shifted a little bit downwards.

    Creating a simple scene from scratch in LW 11.5, shows the same effect: make a simple box with modeler tools (a box 1m x 1m x 3m high), move shift with angle downwards 20 degrees for example near to the box, so that the box fills the screen, and render: the result is the same as with imported old scenes.

    I hope there will be soon a workaround or a bugfix, because I'm working often with 11.2 (or older) scenes (I create technical illustrations, and often use the shift cam). It is no fun to work one day with LW 11.5, next day I have to use LW 11.2 and receive the "HUB is not running error" (fortunately I found the workaround in this forum with deleting all the HUB-files in the C:\temp directory)

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    123
    There surely is a bug, I have parented my objects to a scene NULL (in all my scenes) so I can rotate complete scene (instead of rotating sun position )
    However since switching from LW 10 to LW11.5 all my parented objects are not rendered and I only see my ground plane when using Shift Camera and only when Use Cam Pitch is checked (which is the reason I use the Shift Camera)

  9. #9
    NewTek Developer jameswillmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    3,168
    Quote Originally Posted by Taran-Q View Post
    There surely is a bug, I have parented my objects to a scene NULL (in all my scenes) so I can rotate complete scene (instead of rotating sun position )
    However since switching from LW 10 to LW11.5 all my parented objects are not rendered and I only see my ground plane when using Shift Camera and only when Use Cam Pitch is checked (which is the reason I use the Shift Camera)
    Please report this via Fogbugz thanks!

    https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.asp
    LightWave3D training, assets, news and discussion at www.liberty3d.com
    My opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions of any other entity, Liberty3D is not officially endorsed by NewTek.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by jameswillmott View Post
    Please report this via Fogbugz thanks!

    https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.asp
    reported it but found out it only happens with scenes coming from LW10. Newly set up or replacing NULL with new NULL and parenting again solves it

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •