Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Connecting nulls with straight lines

  1. #1
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,323

    Connecting nulls with straight lines

    I have a network of nulls that float around in Layout and would like to have lines between them that connect them together. Normally I'd do this in AE with the beam plugin but this job requires the line to be a little more 3 dimensional.

    Anyone have any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Super Member Kevbarnes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire UK
    Posts
    498
    Hi raw-m,
    you could try using 2point polys, create them in modeler, then in layout go to properties:Edges: adjust Particle/Line thicknes to a Negative value.
    "one rig to rule them all"
    PC Spec: Intel i7 X980 3.33GHz | 24Gb | ATI FirePro V5800 | W7
    https://vimeo.com/kevbarnes/showreel
    https://littlstar.com/kevbarnes
    https://www.talenthouse.com/kevbarnes

  3. #3
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,323
    Thanks kevbarnes. I'll certainly bare that in mind! Trouble with that is that the line width is uniform regardless of the depth of the nulls. Is there something that exports all my nulls into a single model?

    I'm having a little play with DP's Spline Deform, see if there's a possible solution there (although I've got quite a few nulls so setting them up manually will be a pain).

  4. #4
    Super Member Kevbarnes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire UK
    Posts
    498
    If your working only in Layout - you could try setting each null as an emitter and then targeting to another null-Emitter then add HVs to render.
    Another way may be to use Volume Lights which target each other () not sure about that?.
    There is a Plug-in that will export LW 3d null/object /camera data to AfterFX.
    Failing that, if you cant use 2 point plys then you would have to model 'Pipes' geometry and then deform it in Layout, possibly with a 3d textr like turbulance.
    "one rig to rule them all"
    PC Spec: Intel i7 X980 3.33GHz | 24Gb | ATI FirePro V5800 | W7
    https://vimeo.com/kevbarnes/showreel
    https://littlstar.com/kevbarnes
    https://www.talenthouse.com/kevbarnes

  5. #5
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,323
    Some nice tips there. I'm in pre-prod mode at the moment so got a little time to experiment. It looks more likely that I'll re-model in Modeller and find a way of making the 'nulls' more dynamic in Layout, possibly with SoftFx(?).

  6. #6
    Super Member Kevbarnes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire UK
    Posts
    498
    post up your results if its allowed, it would be good to see
    "one rig to rule them all"
    PC Spec: Intel i7 X980 3.33GHz | 24Gb | ATI FirePro V5800 | W7
    https://vimeo.com/kevbarnes/showreel
    https://littlstar.com/kevbarnes
    https://www.talenthouse.com/kevbarnes

  7. #7
    da what? daforum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, England
    Posts
    1,669
    Would "Nulls to Points" script work for you?
    http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=67f5b123

    Open the points in Modeler then model the lines (objects) between.

    Hope it helps, and Happy New Year
    Montage Reel, Portfolio, PIN_01, Prime......«« go on, click on a link!

  8. #8
    Super Member Kevbarnes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire UK
    Posts
    498
    Quote Originally Posted by daforum View Post
    Would "Nulls to Points" script work for you?
    This is cool - I'll grab that too, many thanks - and a Happy New Year to you to.
    "one rig to rule them all"
    PC Spec: Intel i7 X980 3.33GHz | 24Gb | ATI FirePro V5800 | W7
    https://vimeo.com/kevbarnes/showreel
    https://littlstar.com/kevbarnes
    https://www.talenthouse.com/kevbarnes

  9. #9
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,323
    Yes, thanks, will give it a whirl. I've been experimenting with DP's Spline Deform. Getting some really good results connecting the nulls created by Spline Deform and using Node Item Motion to bind them to particles from an emitter. I can then use Instances to put objects on each particle. I'll post when I'm a little happier with it!

  10. #10
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,323
    I think that bloomin' genius Bryphi77 has been thinking about this too!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?nomobile=1&v=wsBEJGmwACA

  11. #11
    Super Member Kevbarnes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Gloucestershire UK
    Posts
    498
    Quote Originally Posted by raw-m View Post
    I think that bloomin' genius Bryphi77 has been thinking about this too!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?nomobile=1&v=wsBEJGmwACA
    This looks good. It gives good control over animation of nulls as opposed to a random movement generated by a texture.
    you could probably do this with Joint 'Stretchy' Bones.
    "one rig to rule them all"
    PC Spec: Intel i7 X980 3.33GHz | 24Gb | ATI FirePro V5800 | W7
    https://vimeo.com/kevbarnes/showreel
    https://littlstar.com/kevbarnes
    https://www.talenthouse.com/kevbarnes

  12. #12
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,323
    Haha, would be great, but... (nothing's easy!)...

    http://forums.newtek.com/showthread....-inputs-on-Mac

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •