Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Easiest way to get Ambient Occlusion on a total scene?

  1. #1
    Wannabe wannabe Costanel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    278

    Smile Easiest way to get Ambient Occlusion on a total scene?

    Hey,

    I'm looking for a way to get a fast and good Ambient Occlusion pass of an already textured scene. I've tried the render buffer, but that doesn't get the results I want and is really slow. I would like to have complete control over the Ambient Occlusion(so also be able to use interpolated AO).
    It would be even cooler if I could get it working in VPR, since I currently do most renders in VPR.

    So, how do you set-up an AO-pass?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Registered User Brötje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    120

  3. #3

  4. #4
    DP Dome can be helpfull in some situations, it is fast.
    You can set up Occlusion range.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DPDomeMM.jpg 
Views:	965 
Size:	238.1 KB 
ID:	109145  

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,854
    Quote Originally Posted by MarcusM View Post
    DP Dome can be helpfull in some situations, it is fast.
    You can set up Occlusion range.
    ..As I can see, a few options are missing in the panel,
    you should download the last version of DP Light,
    it is faster when going to map with Backdrop or new Image option.

    Denis.

  6. #6
    Thank you for info. I use DP Dome to bake texture in my last low poly object (LW-gallery-finished) iveco daily. It is fast, "shadows" are soft, very low grain.
    Last edited by MarcusM; 11-14-2012 at 08:47 AM.

  7. #7
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,079
    I have been plugging the occlusion node into the alpha channel in dpont's Node Pixel Filter (see attached). It does not get much easier than that.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	occlusion_setup.jpg 
Views:	1073 
Size:	175.5 KB 
ID:	109152

  8. #8
    Wannabe wannabe Costanel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    278
    Thanks for the answers.

    I was aware of the Dome-solution, for this to work however, I would have to remove all my textures. I'd rather not do this because I would have to use separate models.

    I noticed the PixelFilter and Compositing Buffer Export only allow exporting to separate files, is there a way(except for EXRTrader) to export these buffer as layers in the same file? (for instance PSD or EXR) I'm currently trying to use Blender for compositing work, and using all those different files really screws up the readability of my node-setup.

    EDIT: By the way: I discover that by using the (DP)Dome-light with a white-shadow, black light and a negative value will add occlusion on a current scene will only add occlusion-shadows, without affecting the lighting in a scene. Perhaps a cool gimmick to know about.
    For the LW Dome-light this does not work in VPR though, but only in F9 renders...
    (not really useful for compositing though...)
    Last edited by Costanel; 11-15-2012 at 02:09 PM.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by dpont View Post
    ..As I can see, a few options are missing in the panel,
    you should download the last version of DP Light,
    it is faster when going to map with Backdrop or new Image option.

    Denis.
    I was just going to post some examples of DP Dome vs. backdrop radiosity; DP Dome turns out to be both slower and more grainy than radiosity, but I'm using LW 9.6, and I guess there's no new version of DP Light for it. Is it faster/cleaner than radiosity now?
    Last edited by toby; 11-17-2012 at 12:26 PM.
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,854
    Quote Originally Posted by toby View Post
    I was just going to post some examples of DP Dome vs. backdrop radiosity; DP Dome turns out to be both slower and more grainy than radiosity, but I'm using LW 9.6, and I guess there's no new version of DP Light for it. Is it faster/cleaner than radiosity now?
    I compared to older versions of DP Light,
    these options for DP Dome Light are available for LW9.6
    but not ported to MacUB yet,

    This is like comparing the Sky Light of Sunsky
    with ambient radiosity and blurred background (Sunsky Environment),
    I wouldn't discussing this myself (there's a thread in this forum),
    the last DP Dome version is closer to Sky Light
    with an explicit hemispherical mode
    and a choice between faster backdrop or an image.

    DP Light 11 has LW Unified Sampling
    (may need to increase Light Samples though).

    Denis.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    123
    WHere can I find that PFnode for 64bit? it's a third party node isn't it?

    @ lertola2: strangely plugin the occlusion into the alpha have absolutly no effect here. the alpha is all white. something I am missing?

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    275
    Hi there, I used to use Shader Miester but it is not supported in 11.5 so now use the Ambient occlusion buffer within lightwave.
    It saves out a separate image for the occlusion without having to change lighting or any of your textures, very useful. Hope this helps

    Tutorial link below:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1SsGSx0dd9Q

  13. #13
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,473
    Quote Originally Posted by M-X View Post
    Hi there, I used to use Shader Miester but it is not supported in 11.5...
    Actually it is.
    However, if you encounter an issue, please report it so we can fix it.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  14. #14
    It isn't supported? Huh? I use it all the time, ShaderMeister is awesome! I also MUCH prefer the look of DP's Occlusion node set to ranged to the look of the native occlusion. It produces an indefinitely superior occlusion IMHO. I also largely have to use ShaderMeister, because of scenarios which involve windows.. I.e. if you use the native or the DP Node pixel filter, then anything which is transparent will become opaque, so anything behind glass won't receive occlusion. It's quite easy to build networks which makes off the glass and make it transparent in ShaderMeister. I expect Sensei's global node editors could be used to similar effect.

  15. #15
    Tobian, do you mind explaining your method for glass using ShaderMeister, I Figured having the glass surfaces just a solid white but partly transparent to allow the occlusion of objects behind to show up a bit.

    The thing is that sometimes a bright reflection might play over a glass surface and you would certainly not want any occlusion showing through that area.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •