Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: FFX Critical Bug

  1. #1

    FFX Critical Bug

    Render when your camera doesn't see FFX, LW hangs. Annoying.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Thanks. Although I think it is a bug but I'm not so sure. No one experienced this?

  4. #4
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,876
    Attach scene, so we can check whether it's reproducible..

  5. #5
    Attached a scene file. FFX applied to the guides.
    Frame 0 - Render fine.
    Frame 1 - Hang.

  6. #6
    there is no sanctuary....
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Rochester Hills, MI USA
    Posts
    454
    Confirmed.
    Bill Carey

    I7 6700K 4.0 ghz
    Win10 Pro 64bit
    32gig Ram
    Nvidia GTX 980 4 gb 417.71
    LW 2019.0 x64
    Space Navigator

  7. #7
    Super Member Hieron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,685
    Quote Originally Posted by VermilionCat View Post
    Render when your camera doesn't see FFX, LW hangs. Annoying.
    Quote Originally Posted by VermilionCat View Post
    Thanks. Although I think it is a bug but I'm not so sure. No one experienced this?
    Yes I did, about 4 years ago. Then I filed a bugreport and it did get fixed. Funny to see it back, though I'll try to refrain from commenting on it too much...
    I'm not touching FFX with a stick yet and am very happy that I don't have to either.

  8. #8
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,876
    This scene was made in the past, or is it made by current version?
    Which version and which build?

  9. #9
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,876
    LW v11.0.1 Build 2253 didn't hang..

    I had to set First Frame to 0, then picked up Output RGB Files, and pressed F10- it's going.. I stopped it at 21 frame (1-21 all black).

  10. #10
    Super Member Hieron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,685
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    LW v11.0.1 Build 2253 didn't hang..

    I had to set First Frame to 0, then picked up Output RGB Files, and pressed F10- it's going.. I stopped it at 21 frame (1-21 all black).
    That is not what he said. He said render when it is not in view, you applied a specific different approach. Why would you do that?

    Rendering frame 1 with F9 *hangs* LW 11.0.1 build 2253, 64bit, win7 here no doubt.
    So he is correct. *bug*

    As to what version the scene is created with, no idea. But spending 20 seconds making a new one from scratch and rotating the camera so that the FFX is not in view would tell you that build 2253 made scene has the same *bug*.

    Pff.. a 88 post forum user needs to come in here and point out basic FFX errors, that have been reported before. Nice. (thanks for post though vermillioncat)
    Last edited by Hieron; 04-24-2012 at 01:41 AM.

  11. #11
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,876
    No. When I loaded scene, I immediately pressed F10, no touched anything.. it started rendering from frame 1 (then I realized it's rotated already).. and black everything.. so stopped it for a couple frames.. nothing hung.. then to see how FFX looks like I played with Render Globals first frame set to 0 and pressed again F10.
    I am not familiar with FFX errors, so don't know how to reproduce old or new bugs.
    It's build 2253 winxp 32 bit.

  12. #12
    TD/Animator lino.grandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    1,700
    We're looking into that NOW. Thank you so much!
    Lino Grandi
    3D Development, LightWave 3D Group/NewTek, Inc.

    https://www.lightwave3d.com/

    LightWave 3D Group YouTube channel:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/Official...?feature=watch

    My YouTube Channel:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/linograndi?feature=mhee

  13. #13
    Thank you for your time, guys.
    The scene I posted was created with v11.0.1 64bit.
    It could be 64bit problem. I should have mentioned.

  14. #14
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,125
    For what it's worth, that error doesn't happen here. I just rendered a three frame sequence of a character on-camera, half-off camera, and completely off camera, and no crashing. Not saying it doesn't happen, only that my scene seems to work fine for me.

    I'm downloading your scene now and will check it out in a minute.

    G.

  15. #15
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,125
    I just looked at your scene...yeah, it hangs on the second frame here too. That's pretty weird.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •