Thread: Export Instances?

Export Instances?

In LW 11, can I export instances as one big object?
    "Once one can articulate an important idea into a concise statement, then one can use the statement and not have to have the fear of changing behavior." - Ed Catmull on Pixar creativity

I'm not an expert on this, but I think instances are just a rendering feature. The geometry doesn't really exist except in the original object, so I'd say, no, you can't.
    System Spec: Asus G75V i7 3920XM 2.9 Ghz 32 Gb RAM nVidia 670M 3 Gb Win 7 64 bit

Quote Originally Posted by rcallicotte View Post
    In LW 11, can I export instances as one big object?
    There is a python script that does this. Been a while since I used so I can't quite recall the ins & outs of it. From memory one LWO per instance which you then need to crunch together (with a plugin as well from memory) into one big object.

It's located here: C:\Program Files\Newtek\LightWave11.0.1\support\plugins\scrip ts\Python\Layout\Generic\bake_instance.py

Thank you everyone. I didn't think it was possible, since the object is just being fake reproduced, but this script might be a great opportunity. Thanks again!
    "Once one can articulate an important idea into a concise statement, then one can use the statement and not have to have the fear of changing behavior." - Ed Catmull on Pixar creativity

Quote Originally Posted by 3DGFXStudios View Post
    It's located here: C:\Program Files\Newtek\LightWave11.0.1\support\plugins\scrip ts\Python\Layout\Generic\bake_instance.py
    Hello

Anybody know how to use this script? I was able to run it from the Python command in Layout, but I don't know how to use it.

I have a terrain of grass that i want to export.

Any help os appreciated.

Thanks!

Daniel