Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Change a model during animation..is this possible?

  1. #1

    Question Change a model during animation..is this possible?

    Hey LW'ers,

    I need to break one of the rules I have never broken before. My character's animation is half done but I need to change and add to the model. Is there a way to do this without loosing the time spent on the animation?
    Is it possible to add geometry to the original model, weight map it, save it as a new object, setup the proper bones and hierarchy, and then replace the object without issue? (Ideally keeping the animation but having the new geometry and rig work)

    I have tried a couple times but get "Error: object loading failed".

    Is this possible or is this destined to tangle things up?

    Thanks in advance!

    "Remember, wherever you go, there you are!"


    Check out my website and demo reel.

  2. #2
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    You should be able to do what you want. What if you just load the object into a clean Layout. Make sure your new object is fine.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  3. #3
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    I've never tried it, but "saving the rig" gets tossed around, so maybe you can at least salvage the skeleton.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  4. #4
    Ok, the object now loads without the error message..forgot about the skelegons in the objects layer. So it should be just a matter of setting up the bones.
    Thank you for the help so far.

    "Remember, wherever you go, there you are!"


    Check out my website and demo reel.

  5. #5
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    Another option would be to go back to a scene where it's just the rig (hopefully you have one), swap out your object, add whatever bones and rig controls that you need.

    Go to your file that has the animation and save out the motions of your animation.

    Then load those motions onto the new rig. MotionCycleGN (v.2.0) is a handy lscript to do this.
    http://thespread.faulknermano.com/_t...read/index.htm

    Adjusting a rig once you've animated is possible, it's just a headache.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  6. #6
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    What kind of changes would destroy the utility of the original model?
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  7. #7
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    Quote Originally Posted by jeric_synergy View Post
    What kind of changes would destroy the utility of the original model?
    I'm referring more to adjusting/adding to the skeleton. The model should be fine.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  8. #8
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    I meant the OP.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  9. #9
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    Quote Originally Posted by jeric_synergy View Post
    i meant the op.
    op?
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  10. #10
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,726
    OP= original poster.

    s/he seemed to think that the planned alterations would make the model unusable for that animation.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  11. #11
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,763
    nothing to it... just make whatever alterations to your object, weight accordingly and it'll still work fine. The only time you get problems like this is if you go changing proportions, limb lengths, etc, then ur screwed.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •