Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Tracing image for modeler

  1. #1
    George Collins n9103h's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    104

    Tracing image for modeler

    I have searched, but to no avail. Please don't laugh at the question, unless it is with me.

    I have to build an image, a wrench, needs to sorta look like the real thing. I can scan in the technical diagrams.

    Is there a process to take those images as the outline for modeler? I have adobe products and Aura.

    I am not sure, besides scanning, what the steps would be. I am guessing it has to be saved in a from modeler can load. I would at least have my basic image to work from.

    Any suggestions or previous threads that I could not find??

    Appreciated.

    George

  2. #2
    ack ack Markc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,347
    In Modeler, open the Display Options (D).
    Under the Backdrop tab you can load 2d images as a background.
    You need to play around with the scale, if you create a rough shape of the object in LW, you can adjust the scale of the image to suit.
    Don't forget to save the preset otherwise when you exit Modeler you will lose all your settings.

  3. #3
    George Collins n9103h's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    104
    thanks, I will try that in a few minutes. much appreciated.

  4. #4
    Registered User WirePeople's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    15

    EPSF loader

    If you feel more comfortable drawing with Adobe products, you could always trace the outline of your wrench in Illustrator, save the path as an .eps. (It used to be that it worked best if you saved as Illustrator version 8, don't know if this is still true.) Then when you open Modeler, you could click File>Import>EPSF loader and it will give you the window to import that .eps file as a path or a closed polygon. It gives a pretty good starting point to model the rest through extrusion, etc.

  5. #5
    NewTek documentation wrench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    909
    Yep, it has to be Illustrator 8 or earlier. After 8, Adobe uses PDF as the basis for AI/EPS files and LightWave still doesn't speak it, even though 9 was released in 2000.

    B
    LightWiki
    --
    Machine spec: Phenom II x6 3.3GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 64-bit, NVidia Geforce 450 GTS 280.26

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •