Thread: DAZ 3D Victoria

DAZ 3D Victoria

I am new to LW10 and I would like to know the best way to import a DAZ 3D character like Victoria into Lightwave.

I've tried to export as a .obj, which seemed to work, but only gave me the base model with no surfaces. So I am asking what is the best method to get the character imported so that I can render it and have it look as good as if it was rendered in DAZ?

Also, to animate it would I have to build a rig for it or can that be imported to?

Has anyone done this before and have a model they can share?

Does anyone know of any tutorials on how to do this?

Thanks
    Last edited by ashea; 07-08-2011 at 02:56 PM.

(3) ways I've seen it done : 1 -- Greenbriar studios used to offer a pretty powerful little kit to do it w/rigging intact though I am unsure how compatible their products are vs the current LW. If you're using Daz's character -- Poser Pro also offers some manner of Lightwave bridging utility. Lastly - if you have the game dev kit - you can remap teh materials down to a single UV on each item (or even 1 for all of them) and export an FBX which with a little nudging is also usable/animatable in LW.

AF

the easiest way to get all your maps, morphs, and cameras, lights and prop into LW is to use the AMAZING FBX Exporter from Daz3D for Daz Studio.

(Amazingly, if you download the current version of the software they give you the FBX Export for free! It is $99, cheapest of the other Daz Studio plugins)

So, the one thing you have to do in the exporter is to set the morphs from BAKE to EXPORT. You can set the function of the morphs to the ones that are used, everything (tho, that makes the file large... VERY large) or select the individual morphs. REALLY cool.

The new import functions of LW10.1 help this to work, and currently it works flawlessly.
    Will Silver
    Animator
    digital TRiP
    "Frak'em all! I USE LIGHTWAVE!"

Quote Originally Posted by ashea View Post
    I...