Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: LW10 and XP - Newtek, help please ;)

LW10 and XP - Newtek, help please ;)

hi all,
    as stated here: http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/requirements.php , it seems LW 10 wont support XP.
    This is very important for me since i have a Samba server (updated to latest version) and it works nicely with all my XP machines, while all Seven machines have severe autentication/remote desktop/file transfer speed issues. I never loved Vista/Seven, and with these issues i'm going to remove all Seven trash from my machines and downgrade to XP64.
    It would be useful for me to hear an official voice about Newtek not supporting XP in the future, and if true, what could happen using LW10 with XP (from "small slowdowns" to "wont work at all", as example).

thanks in advance,
    Paolo

Animator/Compositor wibly wobly's Avatar
    It was working just fine for me a few weeks ago before I upgraded. No idea what it'll be like in the future, namely Core (that was working fine under XP as well).

I've been running LW10 on XP64 with no issues at home and in the studio.

ok, at least current LW 10 works. I'm curious about CORE tough.. maybe someone at NT could already know.

thanks,
    Paolo
    Last edited by Pavlov; 03-21-2011 at 09:17 AM.

So far I haven't noticed much of any issues with windows 7. The only thing so far which I consider as minor, is some delays in modeler. But I was able to load a 4 million poly mesh. Which I am just amazed with since my last system was 32 bit with XP. My new system has 6 cores and 16 gig of ram. But I am thinking that the cores are not fully utilized yet. I know the VPR is a CPU hog, but then again this is the first commercial version.
    Silkrooster.com - temporarily offline due to updating...
    Spinquad Forum - Closed Sorry...
    lightwave-resources.pdf - - temporarily offline due to updating...