Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: RAM for a MacPro 1,1?

  1. #1
    Pixel and Poly Pusher JeffrySG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,738

    RAM for a MacPro 1,1?

    Does anyone have any recommendations for a place to purchase RAM for a MacPro 1,1. (Dual core 2.66 Xenon 2006)?

    Probably looking for 4 2GB or 2 4GB (or I guess even 4 1GB). I have 4 1GB in it right now. Not sure if one config would be better than another or if I should switch positions of the current ram as well.

    I'm not really finding it in any of my searches so far.

    Cheers!

  2. #2
    3D Mac Maniac Scazzino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston area
    Posts
    2,554
    I use MacSales.com
    MikeS [LWProfile] 30+ Yrs of Award-winning Media DreamLight.com

    Drag-and-drop-dead-easy™ ScreamerNet - DLI Constellation
    BOOK - Creating a 3D Animated CGI Short & 3D CGI Short Films & DLI Blog

  3. #3
    Pixel and Poly Pusher JeffrySG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,738
    ^Thanks, I'll check them out.

  4. #4
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,108
    http://www.datamemorysystems.com/

    They always have great prices for ram in my experience.

  5. #5
    Airwolf 3D man virtualcomposer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    1,440
    Quote Originally Posted by Scazzino View Post
    Yeah, they are one of the highest rated from what I've read over many forums. I actually just bought 8gigs of RAM for my macbook pro i5 so I can't wait to start getting rid of the glitches!
    Graphic Designer & 3D Textures
    -Mac Pro 2.26GHz | 8-core | 3TB HD | 12GB RAM | Dell Ultrasharp 2707 | ATI Radeon HD 5770

  6. #6
    I use Ramjet, never been disappointed. They have a full 100% money-back guarantee or replacement, no questions asked. I once had to replace some ram (8gb), they rushed me out replacement ram with the return envelope for the bad ram. Includes lifetime warranty.

    http://www.ramjet.com/macpro.asp#1stGen

    http://www.ramjet.com/warranty.asp

    (2006 1st and 2nd gen.) 2gb is $99 and 4gb is $149
    (3rd gen.) 2gb is $59 and 4gb is $117
    (4th gen.) 2gb is $59 and 4gb is $117

  7. #7
    Pixel and Poly Pusher JeffrySG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,738
    Hey, thanks everyone for the info!! I'll check them all out but it looks like ramjet has some great guarantees.

    Cheers!

  8. #8
    AeroAnimator 4dartist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    1,065
    We've probably gotten about 60 gigs or so from thechipmerchant.com

    No issues so far. I think all of our mac pros are 2,1.

  9. #9
    Pixel and Poly Pusher JeffrySG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,738
    Quote Originally Posted by 4dartist View Post
    We've probably gotten about 60 gigs or so from thechipmerchant.com

    No issues so far. I think all of our mac pros are 2,1.
    Thanks

  10. #10
    Kamehameha Chameleon BigHache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Future Past Life
    Posts
    1,899
    To my knowledge, "Mac" ram is technically no different than the same spec ram that could be used in a non Mac machine. The only difference I've seen in ram that's marketed as "Mac" is the packaging and usually a price increase.

    You can find several reviews of Mac users on Newegg that report "non Mac" ram working fine in Mac Pros. You just have to match the specs.

  11. #11
    3D Mac Maniac Scazzino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston area
    Posts
    2,554
    Yup, OWC (MacSales.com) has the same lifetime warranty, no questions asked. I once had a stick go bad many years after purchase and they sent a pre-paid shipping envelope to send it back and they sent me a replacement. At the time the size I had bought was no longer available, so they even upgraded it to a higher amount of RAM.

    And they also have hard drives and other upgrades as well as memory...
    MikeS [LWProfile] 30+ Yrs of Award-winning Media DreamLight.com

    Drag-and-drop-dead-easy™ ScreamerNet - DLI Constellation
    BOOK - Creating a 3D Animated CGI Short & 3D CGI Short Films & DLI Blog

  12. #12
    3D Mac Maniac Scazzino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston area
    Posts
    2,554
    Quote Originally Posted by BigHache View Post
    To my knowledge, "Mac" ram is technically no different than the same spec ram that could be used in a non Mac machine. The only difference I've seen in ram that's marketed as "Mac" is the packaging and usually a price increase.

    You can find several reviews of Mac users on Newegg that report "non Mac" ram working fine in Mac Pros. You just have to match the specs.
    That can work, but sometimes can run into headaches. I once bought three Power Mac G4's from CompUSA and they had used properly spec'd PC memory which caused intermittent freezes. I tracked it down to the extra memory they had installed. Though the basic specs were the same, there were some internal timing issues that caused problems coming out of sleep state. Sometimes the cooling requirements/heat sinks may be different as well. I'd recommend buying from a bona-fide Mac dealer. You may be fine with PC RAM, but then again sometimes that can result in problems... FWIW
    MikeS [LWProfile] 30+ Yrs of Award-winning Media DreamLight.com

    Drag-and-drop-dead-easy™ ScreamerNet - DLI Constellation
    BOOK - Creating a 3D Animated CGI Short & 3D CGI Short Films & DLI Blog

  13. #13
    I've also had very good experiences with macsales - both RAM and hard drives.

    I've also used ramjet and also had no problems.

  14. #14
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,462
    I use transintl.com personally, purchased all my MacPro 1,1's memory there other than whatever minimal amount Apple demanded I buy with the box. The only problem I ever encountered was a bad FBDIMM. They had me run diags to figure out which it was (to be sure it was just one), and then they overnighted a replacement out with a label to send the bad one back. I'm very satisfied as a customer.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2018.0.7 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),32GB RAM, NV 980ti

  15. #15
    Pixel and Poly Pusher JeffrySG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,738
    So for all of the techy people here... If I want to add 4GB is it better for me to get 2-2GB cards or 4-1GB cards?

    Do you guys know if the OWC sells the ram in matched pairs? I didn't see it listed on their site but RamJet does specifically say that.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •