Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: LW 10/LW 9.6 dont render out the same

  1. #1
    Rigger / Animator oliversimonnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,349

    LW 10/LW 9.6 dont render out the same

    hey, i was working on glass textureing in LW 10, i rendered the scene and i got this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LW10.jpg 
Views:	129 
Size:	92.5 KB 
ID:	92743

    then i opened the scene (exactly the same scene) in 9.6 and i got this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LE9.jpg 
Views:	106 
Size:	126.1 KB 
ID:	92744

    why are the two renders totally different?
    "If its called a walkie-talkie why isn't a hoover called a pushy-sucky"
    Win7 64 bit, Core i7 930
    18GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 770
    Demo Reel 2012
    www.OliverSimonnet3D.com

  2. #2
    thats maybe because of the new colorspace stuff.. how are your settings in the CS tab? How have you saved the image (linear,srgb)?

  3. #3
    Rigger / Animator oliversimonnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,349
    oooh yeah i bet it is that
    errmm...i dunno, wich is the "CS tab" haha sorry
    "If its called a walkie-talkie why isn't a hoover called a pushy-sucky"
    Win7 64 bit, Core i7 930
    18GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 770
    Demo Reel 2012
    www.OliverSimonnet3D.com

  4. #4
    in lw10, just press O for options and choose the CS (colorspace) tab.
    Last edited by Svenart; 02-13-2011 at 01:53 PM.

  5. #5
    Rigger / Animator oliversimonnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,349
    aah ok thanks
    its all set to linear.
    "If its called a walkie-talkie why isn't a hoover called a pushy-sucky"
    Win7 64 bit, Core i7 930
    18GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 770
    Demo Reel 2012
    www.OliverSimonnet3D.com

  6. #6
    NewTek documentation wrench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    909
    That's your problem. You want to make sure that you are set up as shown in the image attached.

    The Converts are from sRGB, which is how your loaded images will be saved, colours picked on screen, etc. You want to continue to display in sRGB rather than Linear as Display and Output Colour Space show and you want to colour correct your OpenGL display.

    This is all thanks to Matt Gorner's forthcoming video on the topic - all power to him!

    B
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CS.png 
Views:	89 
Size:	22.4 KB 
ID:	92769  
    LightWiki
    --
    Machine spec: Phenom II x6 3.3GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 64-bit, NVidia Geforce 450 GTS 280.26

  7. #7
    Rigger / Animator oliversimonnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,349
    aah ok
    thanks for the info
    "If its called a walkie-talkie why isn't a hoover called a pushy-sucky"
    Win7 64 bit, Core i7 930
    18GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 770
    Demo Reel 2012
    www.OliverSimonnet3D.com

  8. #8
    NewTek documentation wrench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    909
    Welcome to the new world of linear workflow and colour management!

    B
    LightWiki
    --
    Machine spec: Phenom II x6 3.3GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 64-bit, NVidia Geforce 450 GTS 280.26

  9. #9
    Professional Newbie funk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    777
    Actually if you want lw10 and 9 to render the same way, you need to set everything in lw10 to linear because thats how lw9 works internally.

    Now if you are getting different output, then you have found a bug and should report it
    Win7 64/Core i7-975 3.33GHz/12GB RAM/GTX 670 2GB/Wacom Intuos4 M
    I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live - Jesus Christ

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •