Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Scene takes forever to load ...

  1. #1
    Craptose Intolerant UltraViolet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    279

    Angry Scene takes forever to load ...

    Hi folks.

    I have unusual problem since LW (still using 9.6 version) never behaved like this.

    I have scene with one object cloned more then 150 times ...

    Well, everything was going on fine (I even had an excellent OpenGL frame rate, considering original geometry is about 18000 polygons).

    I saved scene like every 10 minutes and it only took few seconds each time.

    Only thing which differs from my regular flow was that I used Renderman shader collection ...

    Problem is that I lost electricity for about 5 seconds last night and I said to myself, OK, I'll just reload it and continue, but no go, I had to force LW to quit after 45 minutes.

    Did any of you experienced this before ?
    These moments, as beautiful as they are, are evil when they're gone...

  2. #2
    Code Muppet evenflcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,642
    There was an issue with multiple Scene Editor instances being created and taking a long time to load. I don't know whether this cause was a bug or because people used the wrong command to access the SE (creating new instance, instead of opening preexisting instance). To remedy the situation you could edit the LWS, delete the instances manualy in the Master Plugin panel or download a script/plugin to clear them.

    Either way... have a look at your LWS. How big is it? Browse through it quickly, anything look like it is repeating forever?

    What plugins/script have you applied to items?
    Last edited by evenflcw; 12-15-2010 at 08:58 PM.

  3. #3
    Super Member JonW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    2,235
    Get a UPS.


    If you can’t open the scene, start with a new scene & then load everything “From Scene”.

    It’s a good idea to “save as” rather than “save” (-001, -002, -003 etc) you can always chuck out old scenes but you keep the last dozen up your sleeve.

    If you have too many copies of the same object, open “Scene Editor” & select one or more objects & change them to Bounding Box, could take the load off your set up.

    Also keep all the view ports as Bounding Box to speed things up, & this also saves a lot of ram.
    Last edited by JonW; 12-15-2010 at 09:21 PM.
    Procrastination, mankind's greatest labour saving device!

    W5580 x 2 24GB, Mac Mini, Spyder3Elite, Dulux 30gg 83/006 72/008 grey room,
    XeroxC2255, UPS EvolutionS 3kw+2xEXB

  4. #4
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,876
    I have made free plugin which makes saving backup scene process a joy.
    Look for SaveSceneAndAllObjects (and included with it SaveSceneAndAllObjectsIncrement) on mine website.

    Try loading LWOs one by one in Modeler, to see whether they're long loading there too.

    If it won't help, close whole LW, rename/move Renderman shaders/nodes to some other place, where it won't be found, and load object. Reject every "not found plugin" requests. Object should load, unless it's totally damaged. In such case, you might try as a last resort loading them in other software which understands LWO..
    Last edited by Sensei; 12-16-2010 at 08:59 AM.

  5. #5
    How big is the scene file now?
    Go TEAM VAD!! \/

  6. #6
    Craptose Intolerant UltraViolet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    279
    Quote Originally Posted by evenflcw View Post
    There was an issue with multiple Scene Editor instances being created and taking a long time to load. I don't know whether this cause was a bug or because people used the wrong command to access the SE (creating new instance, instead of opening preexisting instance). To remedy the situation you could edit the LWS, delete the instances manualy in the Master Plugin panel or download a script/plugin to clear them.

    Either way... have a look at your LWS. How big is it? Browse through it quickly, anything look like it is repeating forever?

    What plugins/script have you applied to items?
    Thanks guys.

    LWS is 540 kB. Pretty small IMO.

    I used FX_motion modifier on my main object ...

    I'll look at it later, too sleepy now, just got up

    Anyways, here is the scene file:
    Attached Files Attached Files
    These moments, as beautiful as they are, are evil when they're gone...

  7. #7
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,876
    It has 156 times copied object that has 18,000 sub-patches.. So after freezing it's something like 168,000 polys per object, if you didn't adjust Display Sub-Patch Level.. After multiplying it by 156 is giving 26 millions polys. Here after loading 10%, it says "cannot generate mesh, using null instead" etc. type of message..

  8. #8
    Oh.. just un-subpatch the model then?
    Go TEAM VAD!! \/

  9. #9
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,876
    Looks fine even not sub-patched. Still it has almost 3 million polys though.
    And this scene doesn't look like it has 156 cloned objects..
    I would say, 20-30 is visible, not more..

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Render_0917.png 
Views:	162 
Size:	578.1 KB 
ID:	90999  

  10. #10
    Craptose Intolerant UltraViolet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    279
    Quote Originally Posted by NanoGator View Post
    Oh.. just un-subpatch the model then?
    That worked, thank you guys, you are all awesome
    These moments, as beautiful as they are, are evil when they're gone...

  11. #11
    Craptose Intolerant UltraViolet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    279
    Just to thank you all for help once again, here is animation render for those interested (in HD)

    Tell me guys what you think

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jms_Hq1nP5Q

    Cheers
    These moments, as beautiful as they are, are evil when they're gone...

  12. #12
    Top Dog
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,053
    Cool, very mesmerizing. Reminds me of Groboto objects.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •