Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 54

Thread: Fprime and Lightwave 10

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    santa monica
    Posts
    238

    Fprime and Lightwave 10

    Hello Every-One.

    I was looking at the Lw10 Demo, and it looks like F9, is done automatically, so do we need to have Fprime for Lw10 or not.
    Dose Fprime is going to work withe Lightwave 10 ?
    If we can see the Render scenes in real time, Do we need to have Fprime ?
    Thanks
    simon

  2. #2
    Heffalump
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Away
    Posts
    3,897
    No-one who knows will be able to tell you much about LW10 beyond what has already been shown by NewTek themselves. There are NDAs in place with NewTek.
    Inactive.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    S
    Posts
    3,511
    ... FPrime doesn't run on quad core macs at least.

  4. #4
    Registered User Dreamcube017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    305
    Hm... from what I've seen, I don't think you'd need FPrime because of VPR... unless there's some specific thing in FPrime you need that lightwave 10 doesn't have.

  5. #5
    Registered User stevenpalomino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    607
    Unlike the VPR ( as far as I know ) FPrime has the progressive render.. that alone to me is worth the purchase cause you can render your scene in low quality.. bring it in to after effects to set up your scene while it refines and then just switch out the footage with the better quality one..

  6. #6
    Well, It I think they are working on saving renders out of VPR but the one huge advantage (so far) that Fprime has over VPR is that you can stop renders, and then continue them later. So you could render out a fast low-quality preview animation, and then put those same frames back to work later for further refinement. It's an amazing feature of Fprime.

  7. #7
    FPrime is a preview render and a final render and runs on iMac with core i5 - quad core.

  8. #8
    Registered User Dreamcube017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    305
    Hm, I see. FPrime does seem pretty cool. But we'll just have to see when VPR inLW10 is fully released.

  9. #9
    Registered User Dreamcube017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    305
    Hm. Well I guess we'll see when VPR is finished and fully released.

    FPrime does sound pretty cool though.
    Can FPrime do post proccessing effects like the VPR can though?

  10. #10
    Nope.
    That and some materials.

  11. #11
    Registered User Dreamcube017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    305
    Soo... you're saying that it can do NOT ONLy that, but that and some extra shader types?

    ...wow this sounds like one of those lame comercials trying to sell me something.

    "WOW it can do that AND THIS??" lol but that's pretty cool though.

    I have a feeling VPR will improve though.

  12. #12
    I'm a Registered User monovich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rocky Mountain High
    Posts
    1,526
    Fprime rules
    I dunno about 10 and Vpr but right now prime is worth it's weight in gold... Whatever that means.

  13. #13
    Registered User Dreamcube017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    305
    Hmm.. well FPrime's a piece of software... so... how much does lightwave weight exactly?

  14. #14
    Registered User zabu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    switzerland
    Posts
    49
    fprime has some very strong features like select surfaces in the prewiev window and pan/zoom in (without see pixels because it renders allways)...so check surfaces is a snap…, that without altering the camera settings (like modo does)… VPR for me never worked…hope newtek guys will look at fprimes technology for the new lightwave 10 ...i cannot immagine use lightwave without fprime…

  15. #15
    Registered User speismonqui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    518
    Zabu, you're absolutely right! paning and zooming is a really helpfull feature, we all are very use to it. Will VPR work this way? would it be a progressive renderer?
    For now, is great to see VPR in lightwave's viewport, but I think FPrime is still the King!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •