Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Morphs for joints in modeler

  1. #1

    Morphs for joints in modeler

    im creating a character and for some parts of the mesh that aren't
    deforming correctly i want to fix using morphs.

    ok, what im thinking of doing is to Bend him in all the positions for bends
    such as thighs, knees, and forearms inside layout and then saving
    transformed object.

    next open up both the original object and the transformed object in
    modeler. Copy the transformed object into the background layer of the
    original object.

    next will be to use the [Bkgrnd to Morph] optin and then correct the areas
    where need be for the bending areas.

    What im thinking next is to copy the fixed morph for each individual morph
    i will need for each area of bending to have seperate morphs for each.

    then im thinking i can clear the map for the areas not need for each
    specific morph.

    is this the correct way?

  2. #2
    It would definitely be one way. Painting weight maps would be another. And in layout would be yet another. The latter would be the preferred. To that end, find this tool:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiBhn...eature=related

  3. #3
    thanks man, was wanting a little reassurance before i start
    fixing the geometry.

  4. #4
    If your using weight maps with "Use Weight Map Only",. I would recommended you use modeler to make the joint morphs.
    http://www.timaxmedia.com/html/help/...int_Morph_.htm

    If you just using bones/joints without "Use Weight Map Only". You may want to try to using this new plugin. To make your morphs in layout.

    http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=2490

    Follow the same steps but do you're work in layout and use the save endomorph in layout. This will make/save morphs into your object. Then use joint morphe plus to control them.

    http://www.joelertola.com/tutorials/joint/joint.html

  5. #5
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    I would do it the way Castius mentioned in layout,
    Pose the joint in its most extreme pose.
    Save that as a morph in layout.
    Use the tool Castius mentioned to now fix the joint
    while in that extreme pose.
    Save that as a morph.
    Use the apply morph command (its a modeler tool that works in layout) to subtract out the first morph (-100).

  6. #6
    It's worth noting that the "edit mesh in layout" tool that Castius mentioned is Mac only.

    Eric

  7. #7
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    No, its running fine on my PC.

  8. #8
    Looks like you're right. It's hard to find things on pages like that, but I went back and there it was. Cool!

    I remember when these plugins first hit the scene, there was a big hubbub because they were in fact mac only, which was pretty much a 180 from what usually happens...

    Eric

  9. #9
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    Very true. When I first saw it mentioned it was weird that it was Mac only but apparently he saw the light
    I hate it when the Mac gets all the plugins before the PC does.

  10. #10
    Do i have to use [create joint moprh] in modeler by moving a
    skelegon, in order to have a joint morph move correctly with the motion
    of the driving bone.

    also when i use weightmap only with no morphs, my weight seems as if the bone is not pulling it
    Last edited by VonBon; 03-05-2010 at 11:27 AM.

  11. #11
    Javis Jones: Night Crew geothefaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oregon Territory
    Posts
    4,214
    Quote Originally Posted by SplineGod View Post
    Very true. When I first saw it mentioned it was weird that it was Mac only but apparently he saw the light
    I hate it when the Mac gets all the plugins before the PC does.
    I sent him an email with my limited Japanese language skills, and urged others to do the same. Luckily within about two weeks or so if I recall correctly, he had produced a PC version. Nice guy. I found out through him that in Japan, LW is licensed differently. You purchase the PC and mac versions separately... You don't get both with one dongle like in Europe and North America. Why... I don't know, kind of sucks.

    But anyway, onto the use of said plugin!



    The downside to this plugin, is that it works DOG SLOW on medium/large meshes in Layout. I did some weight mapping on a medium res character back in October for a client, I thought sweet... I can use that plugin. Unfortunately it didn't work out that way. After trying it out a number of times with different setups (ie, piecing out the mesh into smaller bits), I found it just wouldn't work as well as I thought it would. (ala XSI)


    You can piece out your mesh into smaller bits (as noted above), pasting each part into a new layer in modeler, and then hiding the parts you're not weighting. This will yield some better OGL speed performance. So just a heads up, make sure you're prepared to do a little more leg work.


    The live results in Layout with it are really, really nice once you can actually use it.

  12. #12
    Javis Jones: Night Crew geothefaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oregon Territory
    Posts
    4,214
    Quote Originally Posted by VonBon View Post

    also when i use weightmap only with no morphs, my weight seems as if the bone is not pulling it
    Make sure the bone is using the weight in the bone properties, from the weight drop down list.

  13. #13
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    You can also pull points in layout using editfx along with mdscanning and FIs minimo.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by SplineGod View Post
    You can also pull points in layout using editfx along with mdscanning and FIs minimo.
    http://www.vfxcast.com/media/343/Poi...rol_in_Layout/

  15. #15
    just a test using the 3Dcel LayoutMeshEditTool...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSyCoEgB6oo
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •